Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Blessing

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Signs (22017676358)Photo: Nicolas Henderson from Coppell, Texas · CC BY 2.0
Blessing Library · part of Palacios Library Inc

Blessing’s library is a branch of Palacios Library Inc, which lends less per resident than 94% of systems its size

Blessing’s library is the Blessing Library, a branch of Palacios Library Inc, which serves 7,250 people and lent 4,943 items last year.

124 9th St., Blessing 77419 · about 19 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
4,943
0.7 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
430
about 8 a week · 3,798 attended
Cardholders
49%
3,537 cards
Open
19 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

The short version on Blessing’s library

Gifts and endowments pay a real share

36% of the system’s income comes from gifts, endowments, fees and other sources, not taxes. Local taxes cover 64%. What your card is worth ↓

Open only about 19 hours a week

The Blessing branch keeps short hours: about 19 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

Most programs are for young children

66% of the 430 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 1.7 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Blessing’s library is a branch of Palacios Library Inc, so they cover the whole system (7,250 people), not just the Blessing branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Blessing’s civic life grade

Blessing isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Blessing’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 0.7 print items · typical 3.8Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.3 kids’ items · typical 1.6Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0.5 attendees · typical 0.5Higher than 52%
Programs offered 59.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Higher than 74%
Cardholders 49% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 60%
Spending $21 per resident · typical $43Lower than 82%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Palacios Library Inc serves 7,250 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 2 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Palacios Library Inc system. The library’s own count.

4,943
loans, print + digital
0.7 per resident
430
programs & events
3,798 attended
3,537
library cards
49% of people served
Every open hour2items borrowed
Every week73people at a program
3 staff (full-time equivalent)12 public computers

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

4,943 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

4,943loans
Books & media (adults) 58%Kids’ books & media 39%E-books, audio & streaming 3%
From your couch

142 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 5 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Blessing →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–587
Ages 6–11195
Teens130
Adults16
All ages2
Little ones
1.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

1,924
kids’ books & media borrowed
3,798
people at programs
430
programs
The building

Find it

Blessing Library, 124 9th St., Blessing.

19
hours open a week
1,099
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Palacios Library Inc branch.

New in Blessing? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Blessing cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$21 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $154K.

Local taxes 64%Gifts & other 36%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $112K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $154K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 3,537 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Palacios Library Inc didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • System-wide. Blessing Library is one branch of Palacios Library Inc, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 7,250 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Blessing

Does Blessing have a public library?

Yes: Blessing Library, 124 9th St., is a branch of Palacios Library Inc, which serves 7,250 people. The branch is open about 19 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Palacios Library Inc fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Blessing’s library?

It lent 0.7 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 430 programs that drew 3,798 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Blessing’s civic life grade?

Blessing isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Blessing.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.