Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Whitwell

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Whitwell-Cumberland-Plateau-tn1Photo: Brian Stansberry · CC BY 3.0
Safety in Whitwell · Not graded

Crime reported in Whitwell, TN

Whitwell’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
20
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Jasper (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 13 property crimes reported

And about 3 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (12.5)Violent crime (2.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Whitwell2.5
Rest of TN8.5
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Whitwell12.5
Rest of TN30.6
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Whitwell’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Tennessee. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearWhitwellRest of TennesseeWhitwellRest of Tennessee
202213.033.62.59.1
202321.735.45.09.1
202412.530.62.58.5
2025not reported24.3not reported6.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

24 crimes reported in 2024

4 violent and 20 property, as reported to the FBI by Whitwell’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft10
Burglary7
Vehicle theft3
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
20
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Tennessee towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
JasperB11 mi2.46.0
Signal MountainA11 mi0.33.4
KimballC13 mi0.429.9
Red BankC14 mi3.511.9
Tracy CityC14 mi3.515.2
DunlapB14 mi1.310.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Whitwell. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Whitwell.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Whitwell’s roads in 2019–2023

Whitwell had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died.

That is about what is typical for Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Whitwell’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Whitwell’s own rate (9.7) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
9.7
per 100,000 a year · Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000: 12.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Whitwell and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Whitwell
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Whitwell. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Whitwell’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,602 in 2024); our figure for Whitwell is 1,596 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Whitwell

Is Whitwell, TN safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Whitwell. Whitwell’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Tennessee towns with a grade are Jasper (B, 11 mi), Signal Mountain (A, 11 mi), Kimball (C, 13 mi).

Who polices Whitwell?

Whitwell’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Whitwell”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Whitwell.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Whitwell feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.