Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Spencer

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Spencer-Van-Buren-Courthouse-tn1Photo: Brian Stansberry · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Spencer · Not graded

Crime reported in Spencer, TN

Spencer’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
10
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
14 mi
Sparta (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (6.4)Violent crime (1.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Spencer1.3
Rest of TN8.5
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Spencer6.4
Rest of TN30.6
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Spencer’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Tennessee. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearSpencerRest of TennesseeSpencerRest of Tennessee
20220.633.60.09.1
2023not reported35.4not reported9.1
20246.430.61.38.5
2025not reported24.3not reported6.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

12 crimes reported in 2024

2 violent and 10 property, as reported to the FBI by Spencer’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft7
Burglary2
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault2
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
2
violent crimes
10
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Tennessee towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
SpartaC14 mi1.923.2
PikevilleB−17 mi1.411.2
McMinnvilleD19 mi6.419.5
SmithvilleC25 mi3.711.0
DunlapB26 mi1.310.6
CrossvilleD28 mi5.624.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Spencer. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Spencer.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Spencer’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Spencer’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Spencer’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000: 12.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Spencer and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Spencer
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Spencer. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Spencer’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,566 in 2024); our figure for Spencer is 1,636 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Spencer

Is Spencer, TN safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Spencer. Spencer’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Tennessee towns with a grade are Sparta (C, 14 mi), Pikeville (B−, 17 mi), McMinnville (D, 19 mi).

Who polices Spencer?

Spencer’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Spencer”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Spencer.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Spencer feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.