Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Gordonsville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Gordonsville-Main-Street-tn1Photo: Brian Stansberry · CC BY 3.0
Safety in Gordonsville · Not graded

Crime in Gordonsville: the figures, without a grade

A 25-mile circle around it holds 8 towns with a grade. The closest graded town is Carthage, 5 miles away, at C−. Gordonsville’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
5
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Carthage (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported

Property crime (3.6)Violent crime (1.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Gordonsville1.4
Rest of TN6.9
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Gordonsville3.6
Rest of TN24.3
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Gordonsville’s police reported

Show as a table
YearGordonsvilleRest of TennesseeGordonsvilleRest of Tennessee
2022not reported33.6not reported9.1
2023not reported35.4not reported9.1
20245.830.64.38.5
20253.624.31.46.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Tennessee. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

7 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft4
Burglary1
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault2
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
2
violent crimes
5
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

2 violent and 5 property, as reported to the FBI by Gordonsville’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Tennessee towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
CarthageC−5 mi3.525.5
WatertownB13 mi1.88.2
BaxterB17 mi1.38.3
SmithvilleC17 mi3.711.0
LebanonC+23 mi3.310.8
CookevilleC24 mi2.617.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Gordonsville. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Gordonsville.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Four people died in crashes on Gordonsville’s roads in 2019–2023

Gordonsville had 3 fatal crashes in five years, in which four people died; 1 was a pedestrian. Most of these deaths (4 of 4) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is more than is typical for Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Gordonsville’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Gordonsville’s own rate (61.6) is context, not a ranking.

4
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
61.6
per 100,000 a year · Tennessee towns of 2,500–5,000: 12.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Gordonsville and its neighbors

Gordonsville
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Gordonsville. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Gordonsville’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,392 in 2025); our figure for Gordonsville is 1,464 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Gordonsville

Is Gordonsville, TN safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Gordonsville. The nearest Tennessee towns with a grade are Carthage (C−, 5 mi), Watertown (B, 13 mi), Baxter (B, 17 mi).

Who polices Gordonsville?

Gordonsville’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Gordonsville”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Gordonsville feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Gordonsville.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.