Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Marion

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Marion County Courthouse-March 2026Photo: Jlvshistory · CC BY-SA 4.0
Marion County Library System

Marion’s library logs 0.8 visits per resident, against a typical 2.6 for libraries its size

Marion County Library System serves 29,183 people in and around Marion. Last year it lent 27K print books and media and logged 24K visits.

101 East Court Street, Marion 29571 · about 38 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 14% of U.S. towns · #59 of 102 in South Carolina. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
27K
0.9 per resident
Visits a year
24K
0.8 per resident · Below typical (2.6)
Programs & events
129
about 2 a week · 3,167 attended
Cardholders
50%
14,478 cards
Open
38 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

What Marion’s library is like

South Carolina pays a big share

100% of the budget comes from the state, and 0% from local taxes. Nationally, most library money is local. What your card is worth ↓

Marion County Library System is used less than most libraries its size

Marion County Library System records 0.8 visits per resident, against a typical 2.6 for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people. Borrowing is 0.9 print items per resident, against a typical 3.7. How it compares ↓

Few programs for a library this size

Marion County Library System offered 129 programs last year, 4.4 per 1,000 residents against a typical 14. Kids & programs ↓

Kids’ books are most of what goes out

Children’s books and media make up 66% of print loans. Per resident, kids’ borrowing is lower than at 80% of similar-size libraries, so the high share mostly reflects light borrowing by adults. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Marion County Library System serves 29,183 people in and around Marion, and its numbers cover all of them.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Marion’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Marion is ahead of 14% of U.S. towns, #59 of 102 in South Carolina. Marion is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; Marion’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Marion’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 14%
FewerMore
South Carolina towns we grade (102)Ahead of 43%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $23K–$38K (499)Ahead of 36%

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($23K–$38K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Marion is small (6,028 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

23 community nonprofits are registered in Marion

3.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture20.29 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation20.29 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans61.02 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services40.73 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education30.44 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health10.21 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.35 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other20.35 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (11 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

2.2%

2.2% of Marion’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 4.4% in the typical South Carolina town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Marion’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.8 visits · typical 2.6Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 0.9 print items · typical 3.7Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.6 kids’ items · typical 1.7Lower than 80%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.3Lower than 89%
Programs offered 4.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Bottom 10%
Cardholders 50% of residents · typical 39%Higher than 67%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Marion County Library System serves 29,183 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 5 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Marion County Library System system. The library’s own count.

24K
visits
0.8 per resident
27K
loans, print + digital
0.9 per resident
129
programs & events
3,167 attended
14K
library cards
50% of people served
Every open hour5items borrowed
Every week61people at a program
Every day77Wi-Fi sessions
11 staff (full-time equivalent)14 public computers

Not reported for 2024: spending and funding. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

27K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

27Kloans
Books & media (adults) 34%Kids’ books & media 66%
From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 1 kids’ program a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Marion →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–548
Ages 6–116
Teens3
Adults13
All ages59
Little ones
0.9

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

18K
kids’ books & media borrowed
3,167
people at programs
129
programs
The building

Find it

Marion County Library, 101 East Court Street, Marion.

38
hours open a week
6,930
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Marion County Library System branch.

New in Marion? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Marion cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 14,478 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending and funding. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
  • System-wide. Marion County Library System serves 29,183 people in and around Marion, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Marion.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Marion

Does Marion have a public library?

Yes. Marion County Library System, 101 East Court Street, serves 29,183 people in and around Marion (the survey’s count) and is open about 38 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Marion County Library System fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Marion’s library?

It logged 0.8 visits and lent 0.9 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 2.6 visits for libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people.

What is Marion’s civic life grade?

D Marion is ahead of 14% of U.S. towns on civic life, #59 of 102 in South Carolina. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Marion.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.