Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Irmo

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Jacob Wingard Dreher HouseJacob Wingard Dreher House · Photo: Bill Fitzpatrick · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Irmo · Not graded

Crime reported in Irmo, SC

Irmo’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
27
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
183
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Lexington (B)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 15 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (15)Violent crime (2.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Irmo2.2
Rest of SC4.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Irmo15.0
Rest of SC23.7
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Irmo’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of South Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearIrmoRest of South CarolinaIrmoRest of South Carolina
202233.231.14.65.8
2023not reported30.4not reported5.6
202415.727.82.45.4
202515.023.72.24.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

210 crimes reported in 2025

27 violent and 183 property, as reported to the FBI by Irmo’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft142
Burglary28
Vehicle theft13
Aggravated assault24
Robbery2
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
27
violent crimes
183
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest South Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LexingtonB8 mi1.09.4
ChapinC+9 mi2.415.8
West ColumbiaD−10 mi6.543.1
SpringdaleD11 mi6.424.8
Forest AcresD14 mi3.732.8
South CongareeC14 mi2.518.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Irmo. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Irmo.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Irmo’s roads in 2019–2023

Irmo had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died. 1 died in crash on an Interstate.

That is about what is typical for South Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (8.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Irmo’s size would see about 5 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Irmo’s own rate (8.5) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
8.5
per 100,000 a year · South Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000: 8.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Irmo and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Lake Murray of Richland———
ColumbiaD7.732.7
Seven Oaks———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Lake Murray of Richland and Seven Oaks are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Irmo. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Irmo’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (12,240 in 2025); our figure for Irmo is 12,204 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Irmo

Is Irmo, SC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Irmo. Irmo’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest South Carolina towns with a grade are Lexington (B, 8 mi), Chapin (C+, 9 mi), West Columbia (D−, 10 mi).

Who polices Irmo?

Irmo’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Irmo”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Irmo.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Irmo feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.