Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to North Providence

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Fatima Hospital, North Providence RIPhoto: John Phelan · CC BY-SA 3.0
Mayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library

North Providence’s library runs 18 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 14 for libraries its size

Mayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library serves North Providence’s 34,114 residents. Last year it lent 167K books, movies and e-books and drew 11K people to its programs.

1810 Mineral Spring Avenue, North Providence 02904 · about 55 hours a week
DCivic lifeAhead of 12% of U.S. towns · #33 of 38 in Rhode Island. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
167K
4.9 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
598
about 12 a week · 11K attended
Cardholders
31%
10,464 cards
Open
55 hrs
a week

What stands out about North Providence’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind North Providence’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, North Providence is ahead of 12% of U.S. towns, #33 of 38 in Rhode Island. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so North Providence is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs sit below most U.S. towns; North Providence’s count of community nonprofits comes closest to the middle.

D
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of North Providence’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 12%
FewerMore
Rhode Island towns we grade (38)Ahead of 14%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $63K–$105K (8,858)Ahead of 11%

The survey’s stand-in for North Providence’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2023 figure, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($63K–$105K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

93 community nonprofits are registered in North Providence

2.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: human services.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture100.29 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation90.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans180.51 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services190.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education110.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health80.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.04 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other170.50 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (27 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 3 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

5.0%

5.0% of North Providence’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.4% in the typical Rhode Island town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where North Providence’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 3.8 print items · typical 3.7Higher than 51%
Digital borrowing 1.1 e-items · typical 1.2Lower than 53%
Kids’ borrowing 2 kids’ items · typical 1.7Higher than 57%
Program attendance 0.3 attendees · typical 0.3Higher than 51%
Programs offered 17.5 per 1,000 residents · typical 14Higher than 61%
Cardholders 31% of residents · typical 39%Lower than 69%
Spending $30 per resident · typical $40Lower than 64%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in RI
#22Most library borrowingof 31 towns
#19Best libraries for kidsof 31 towns
Size group

Mayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library serves 34,114 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 25,000 to 100,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 59 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

167K
loans, print + digital
4.9 per resident
598
programs & events
11K attended
10K
library cards
31% of people served
Every open hour59items borrowed
Every week220people at a program
Every day80Wi-Fi sessions
18 staff (full-time equivalent)24 public computers111K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

More than half the print loans are kids’ books

167K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

167Kloans
Books & media (adults) 37%Kids’ books & media 41%E-books, audio & streaming 22%
How hard the shelves work
1.2×

Each of the 111K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.2 time last year, on average.

From your couch

36,909 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 5 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in North Providence →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5192
Ages 6–1178
Teens54
Adults238
All ages36
Little ones
3.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
11

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in North Providence last year.

11K
people at programs
598
programs
The building

Find it

Mayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library, 1810 Mineral Spring Avenue, North Providence.

55
hours open a week
37,650
square feet
111K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in North Providence? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.53 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average North Providence cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$348
a year at retail prices · $29 a month

Who pays for it
$30 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $40. Operating budget $1M.

Local taxes 76%State 24%Federal 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $2.6M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 10,464 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

North Providence ranks 3rd of 6 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
SmithfieldGreenville Public Library10.659C
LincolnLincoln Public Library fine-free9.059C+
North ProvidenceMayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library fine-free4.955D
ProvidenceProvidence Public Library2.650C+
JohnstonMarian J. Mohr Memorial Library fine-free2.457D−
PawtucketPawtucket Public Library fine-free1.963D

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Mayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2023 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in North Providence

Does North Providence have a public library?

Yes. Mayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library, 1810 Mineral Spring Avenue, serves North Providence’s 34,114 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 55 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Mayor Salvatore Mancini Union Free Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is North Providence’s library?

It lent 4.9 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 598 programs that drew 11,438 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is North Providence’s civic life grade?

D North Providence is ahead of 12% of U.S. towns on civic life, #33 of 38 in Rhode Island. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in North Providence.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.