Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Point Marion

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Point Marion, Pennsylvania 2026Photo: Quintin Soloviev · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Point Marion · Not graded

Safety in Point Marion: figures, but no grade

Widen the search to 25 miles and 11 graded towns turn up. The closest graded town is Masontown, 8 miles away, at C. Point Marion’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
2
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
7
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Masontown (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported

Property crime (6.4)Violent crime (1.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Point Marion1.8
Rest of PA2.9
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Point Marion6.4
Rest of PA17.4
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Point Marion’s police reported

Show as a table
YearPoint MarionRest of PennsylvaniaPoint MarionRest of Pennsylvania
20220.930.20.96.9
202312.519.17.23.2
20246.417.41.82.9
2025not reported16.1not reported2.6

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Pennsylvania. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

9 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft3
Burglary4
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault2
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
2
violent crimes
7
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

2 violent and 7 property, as reported to the FBI by Point Marion’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Pennsylvania towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
MasontownC8 mi4.58.6
German TownshipA10 mi1.40.9
Cumberland TownshipB−12 mi1.710.0
UniontownD−15 mi10.431.0
Luzerne TownshipA+17 mi0.00.0
North Union TownshipA+17 mi0.00.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Point Marion. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Point Marion.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Point Marion’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Pennsylvania towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Point Marion’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Point Marion’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Pennsylvania towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Point Marion and its neighbors

Springhill Township: not gradedDunkard Township: not gradedSpringhill TownshipDunkard TownshipPoint Marion
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Springhill Township———
Dunkard Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Springhill Township and Dunkard Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Point Marion. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Point Marion’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,098 in 2024); our figure for Point Marion is 1,094 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Point Marion

Is Point Marion, PA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Point Marion. The nearest Pennsylvania towns with a grade are Masontown (C, 8 mi), German Township (A, 10 mi), Cumberland Township (B−, 12 mi).

Who polices Point Marion?

Point Marion’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Point Marion”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Point Marion feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Point Marion.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.