Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Independence Township

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Independence Elementary School, Beaver CountyPhoto: Nyttend · Public domain
Safety in Independence Township · Not graded

Crime reported in Independence Township, PA

Independence Township’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Raccoon Township (A)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 1 property crime reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (1.4)Violent crime (0.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Independence Township0.5
Rest of PA2.6
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Independence Township1.4
Rest of PA16.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Independence Township’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Pennsylvania. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearIndependence TownshipRest of PennsylvaniaIndependence TownshipRest of Pennsylvania
2022not reported30.2not reported6.9
2023not reported19.1not reported3.2
20243.617.40.92.9
20251.416.10.52.6

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

4 crimes reported in 2025

1 violent and 3 property, as reported to the FBI by Independence Township’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft3
Burglary0
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
1
violent crimes
3
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Pennsylvania towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Raccoon TownshipA5 mi1.03.1
Findlay TownshipA5 mi0.33.7
AmbridgeD7 mi10.714.2
AliquippaC−7 mi5.312.5
Moon TownshipA−7 mi0.76.9
Harmony TownshipB+8 mi1.46.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Independence Township. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Independence Township.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Independence Township’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Pennsylvania towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.1 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Independence Township’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Independence Township’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Pennsylvania towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.1

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Independence Township and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Findlay Township: Safety Grade AHanover Township: not gradedHopewell Township: not gradedFindlay TownshipHanover TownshipHopewell TownshipIndependence Township
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Findlay TownshipA0.33.7
Hanover Township———
Hopewell Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Hanover Township and Hopewell Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Independence Township. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Independence Township’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,200 in 2025); our figure for Independence Township is 2,236 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Independence Township

Is Independence Township, PA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Independence Township. Independence Township’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Pennsylvania towns with a grade are Raccoon Township (A, 5 mi), Findlay Township (A, 5 mi), Ambridge (D, 7 mi).

Who polices Independence Township?

Independence Township’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Independence Township, Beaver County”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Independence Township.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Independence Township feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.