Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Sheridan

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Sheridan Oregon hillPhoto: M.O. Stevens · CC BY-SA 3.0
Sheridan Public Library

Sheridan’s library runs 20 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 34 for libraries its size

Sheridan Public Library serves Sheridan’s 5,987 residents. Last year it lent 18K print books and media and drew 977 people to its programs.

142 NW Yamhill St., Sheridan 97378 · about 35 hours a week
ACivic lifeAhead of 85% of U.S. towns · #33 of 106 in Oregon. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
18K
3 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
121
about 2 a week · 977 attended
Cardholders
43%
2,565 cards
Open
35 hrs
a week

What stands out about Sheridan’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Sheridan’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Sheridan is ahead of 85% of U.S. towns, #33 of 106 in Oregon. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Sheridan is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups ranks highest.

A
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Sheridan’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 85%
FewerMore
Oregon towns we grade (106)Ahead of 70%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $53K–$88K (9,069)Ahead of 84%

The survey’s stand-in for Sheridan’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2022 figure, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Sheridan is small (6,243 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

33 community nonprofits are registered in Sheridan

5.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture40.63 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation40.63 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans111.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services30.47 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education81.26 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.16 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other20.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (9 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

9.8%

9.8% of Sheridan’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.9% in the typical Oregon town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Sheridan’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 3 print items · typical 3.8Lower than 62%
Kids’ borrowing 1 kids’ items · typical 1.6Lower than 66%
Program attendance 0.2 attendees · typical 0.5Lower than 82%
Programs offered 20.2 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Lower than 70%
Cardholders 43% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 52%
Spending $48 per resident · typical $43Higher than 57%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in OR
#28Most library borrowingof 36 towns
#25Best libraries for kidsof 36 towns
Size group

Sheridan Public Library serves 5,987 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 10 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

18K
loans, print + digital
3 per resident
121
programs & events
977 attended
2,565
library cards
43% of people served
Every open hour10items borrowed
Every week19people at a program
5 staff (full-time equivalent)4 public computers18K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

18K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

18Kloans
Books & media (adults) 66%Kids’ books & media 34%
How hard the shelves work
1×

Each of the 18K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

About 1 kids’ program a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Sheridan →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–540
Ages 6–1137
Teens16
Adults27
All ages1
Little ones
0.8

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
7

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Sheridan last year.

977
people at programs
121
programs
The building

Find it

Sheridan Public Library, 142 NW Yamhill St., Sheridan.

35
hours open a week
3,000
square feet
18K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Sheridan? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Sheridan cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$48 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $287K.

Local taxes 99%State 0%Gifts & other 0%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $283K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $287K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 2,565 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Sheridan Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2022 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Sheridan

Does Sheridan have a public library?

Yes. Sheridan Public Library, 142 NW Yamhill St., serves Sheridan’s 5,987 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 35 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Sheridan Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Sheridan’s library?

It lent 3.0 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 121 programs that drew 977 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Sheridan’s civic life grade?

A Sheridan is ahead of 85% of U.S. towns on civic life, #33 of 106 in Oregon. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Sheridan.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.