Photo: M.O. Stevens · Public domainRaleigh Hills’ library lends 11 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size
West Slope Community Library serves Raleigh Hills’s 14,291 residents. Last year it lent 152K print books and media and drew 1,269 people to its programs.
The short version on Raleigh Hills’s library
Few programs for a library this size
West Slope Community Library offered 66 programs last year, 4.6 per 1,000 residents against a typical 24. Kids & programs ↓
The shelves work hard
Each of the 24,000 items on the shelves went out about 6.4 times last year, on average. What people borrow ↓
Most programs are for young children
76% of the 66 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including 45 for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓
Kids borrow more here than almost anywhere
Children’s books and media are 41% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 86% of similar-size libraries. That works out to about 62 items per child in Raleigh Hills last year. Kids & programs ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
What’s behind Raleigh Hills’ civic life grade
Raleigh Hills isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library’s visits weren’t reported for 2024.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Volunteering in Raleigh Hills
Raleigh Hills is unincorporated, so its nonprofits aren’t counted: they file by mailing address, which doesn’t follow its boundary.
8.0%
8.0% of Raleigh Hills’ Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.9% in the typical Oregon town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Raleigh Hills’ residents live; 2022.
Books and media off the shelf
152K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
Each of the 24K books and other items on the shelves went out about 6.4 times last year, on average.
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.
West Slope Community Library serves 14,291 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.
Every hour the doors are open, about 68 items go out
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
66 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.
children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Raleigh Hills last year.
Find it
West Slope Community Library, 3678 SW 78th Ave, Portland.















No late fees. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in Raleigh Hills? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.27 worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Raleigh Hills cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $1M.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $2.3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1M budget.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 6,334 cardholders ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
| Town | Library | Loans per resident | Hours | Civic life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beaverton | Beaverton City Library fine-free | 13.1 | 54 | B− |
| Raleigh Hills | West Slope Community Library fine-free | 10.6 | 43 | — unincorporated |
| Portland | Central Library fine-free | — | 54 | A |
| Garden Home-Whitford | None of its own | — | — | — unincorporated |
| West Slope | None of its own | — | — | — unincorporated |
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. West Slope Community Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Raleigh Hills
Does Raleigh Hills have a public library?
Yes. West Slope Community Library, 3678 SW 78th Ave, serves Raleigh Hills’ 14,291 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 43 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is West Slope Community Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Raleigh Hills’ library?
It lent 10.6 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 66 programs that drew 1,269 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Raleigh Hills’ civic life grade?
Raleigh Hills isn’t graded on civic life: it’s unincorporated, so its nonprofits can’t be counted reliably (mailing addresses don’t follow its boundary) and its library’s visits weren’t reported for 2024. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Raleigh Hills.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.