Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Coquille

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
John E. and Christina Paulson HouseJohn E. and Christina Paulson House · Photo: Zenhaus · CC BY-SA 3.0
Coquille Public Library

Coquille’s library lends 13 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size

Coquille Public Library serves Coquille’s 4,839 residents. Last year it lent 64K print books and media and logged 42K visits.

105 N Birch St., Coquille 97423 · about 40 hours a week
A+Civic lifeAhead of 97% of U.S. towns · #9 of 106 in Oregon. Library visits, nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
64K
13.3 per resident
Visits a year
42K
8.8 per resident · Above typical (3)
Programs & events
454
about 9 a week · 12K attended
Open
40 hrs
a week
In brief

Coquille’s library, in brief

Coquille ranks 2nd in Oregon for library use

Out of 30 Oregon towns with a library of their own, Coquille comes 2nd for visits per resident. How it compares ↓

Coquille uses its library more than almost any town its size

Coquille Public Library logs 8.8 visits per resident, against a typical 3 for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people, and lends 13 print items per resident against a typical 3.8. On both counts it beats 92% of similar-size libraries across the U.S. How it compares ↓

Three times the programs of a typical library its size

Coquille Public Library ran 454 programs last year, about 9 a week. That’s 94 per 1,000 residents, against a typical 34. People show up: 12,000 attended. Kids & programs ↓

Most programs are for young children

72% of the 454 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 4.1 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

A place to get online

Coquille Public Library logs about 139 Wi-Fi sessions a day and has 56 public computers. That’s 10 sessions per resident a year. A year at the library ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Coquille’s civic life grade

On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Coquille is ahead of 97% of U.S. towns, #9 of 106 in Oregon. All three inputs are above most U.S. towns; Coquille’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Coquille’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 97%
FewerMore
Oregon towns we grade (106)Ahead of 92%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $44K–$73K (7,313)Ahead of 96%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on any two of the three inputs instead, the letter would still be A+. Coquille is small (3,943 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

41 community nonprofits are registered in Coquille

10.2 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture71.75 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation51.25 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans102.50 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services71.75 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education41.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health20.50 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals30.75 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other30.75 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (13 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

10.5%

10.5% of Coquille’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 8.9% in the typical Oregon town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Coquille’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · Kids & programs

About 6 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Coquille →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5212
Ages 6–11115
Teens79
Adults9
All ages39
Little ones
4.1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
9

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Coquille last year.

12K
people at programs
454
programs
How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on all 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 8.8 visits · typical 3Top 10%
Borrowing per resident 13.3 print items · typical 3.8Top 10%
Kids’ borrowing 2 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 59%
Program attendance 2.5 attendees · typical 0.5Top 10%
Programs offered 93.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Top 10%
Spending $90 per resident · typical $43Higher than 88%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in OR#2Most-used librariesof 30 towns
#4Most library borrowingof 36 towns
#26Best libraries for kidsof 36 towns
Size group

Coquille Public Library serves 4,839 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 31 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

42K
visits
8.8 per resident
64K
loans, print + digital
13.3 per resident
454
programs & events
12K attended
Every open hour31items borrowed
Every week232people at a program
Every day139Wi-Fi sessions
4 staff (full-time equivalent)56 public computers30K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

64K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

64Kloans
Books & media (adults) 85%Kids’ books & media 15%
How hard the shelves work
2.2×

Each of the 30K books and other items on the shelves went out about 2.2 times last year, on average.

The building

Find it

Coquille Public Library, 105 N Birch St., Coquille.

40
hours open a week
2,900
square feet
30K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Coquille? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $3.01 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Coquille resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
1
Your card saves you about
$240
a year at retail prices · $20 a month

Who pays for it
$90 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $437K.

Local taxes 96%State 0%Federal 3%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $437K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 4,839 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Coquille

Does Coquille have a public library?

Yes. Coquille Public Library, 105 N Birch St., serves Coquille’s 4,839 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 40 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Coquille Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Coquille’s library?

It logged 8.8 visits and lent 13.3 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3 visits for libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people.

What is Coquille’s civic life grade?

A+ Coquille is ahead of 97% of U.S. towns on civic life, #9 of 106 in Oregon. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Coquille.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.