Photo: Tedder · CC BY 3.0Crime recorded in Columbia City, and why it isn’t graded
Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 4. Within 10 miles, St. Helens is the one town with a Safety Grade. Columbia City’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024
Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And no violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Columbia City’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Columbia City | Rest of Oregon | Columbia City | Rest of Oregon |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 9.2 | 36.5 | 0.5 | 4.1 |
| 2023 | 4.1 | 32.9 | 0.0 | 3.9 |
| 2024 | 2.6 | 30.9 | 0.0 | 4.0 |
| 2025 | not reported | 27.4 | not reported | 3.7 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Oregon. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
5 crimes reported in 2024
2024 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
0 violent and 5 property, as reported to the FBI by Columbia City’s police.
The nearest Oregon towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Helens | C+ | 3 mi | 2.9 | 9.7 |
| Rainier | C+ | 13 mi | 0.5 | 20.7 |
| North Plains | B+ | 22 mi | 1.2 | 7.4 |
| Banks | A− | 24 mi | 0.9 | 4.8 |
| Portland | D− | 26 mi | 7.1 | 54.7 |
| Hillsboro | C− | 26 mi | 3.0 | 22.9 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Columbia City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Columbia City.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
No one died in a crash on Columbia City’s roads in 2019–2023
That is about what is typical for Oregon towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (2.5 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Columbia City’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Columbia City’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Columbia City and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Helens | C+ | 2.9 | 9.7 |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Columbia City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Columbia City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,941 in 2024); our figure for Columbia City is 1,946 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Columbia City
Is Columbia City, OR safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Columbia City. The nearest Oregon towns with a grade are St. Helens (C+, 3 mi), Rainier (C+, 13 mi), North Plains (B+, 22 mi).
Who polices Columbia City?
Columbia City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Columbia City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Columbia City.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.