Parker, Quanah, Star House · Photo: Karen Reid · CC BY-SA 3.0Cache Community Library serves Cache’s 3,108 residents
Cache Community Library serves Cache’s 3,108 residents.
What’s behind Cache’s civic life grade
On library visits, community nonprofits and volunteering, Cache is ahead of 32% of U.S. towns, #105 of 128 in Oklahoma. The share of younger adults in volunteering groups holds the grade up; library visits pull it down.
Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($49K–$82K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
10 community nonprofits are registered in Cache
3.3 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: youth, sports & recreation.
Community nonprofits, by kind
Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (5 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.
10.3%
10.3% of Cache’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 9.7% in the typical Oklahoma town and 7.5% nationally.
Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Cache’s residents live; 2022.
A year at Cache Community Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Find it
Cache Community Library, 416 W C Ave, Cache.















Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in Cache? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Cache resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 3,108 people it serves ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: print loans. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Cache
Does Cache have a public library?
Yes. Cache Community Library, 416 W C Ave, serves Cache’s 3,108 residents (the survey’s count).
Is Cache Community Library fine-free?
It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Cache’s library?
It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is Cache’s civic life grade?
C Cache is ahead of 32% of U.S. towns on civic life, #105 of 128 in Oklahoma. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Cache.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.