Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Oak Harbor

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Oak Harbor, Ohio as viewed from Water StreetPhoto: Photo by and ©2006 Dustin M. Ramsey (Kralizec!) · CC BY-SA 2.5
Safety in Oak Harbor · Not graded

Crime reported in Oak Harbor, OH

Oak Harbor’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
22
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
10 mi
Port Clinton (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (7.9)Violent crime (1.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Oak Harbor1.1
Rest of OH3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Oak Harbor7.9
Rest of OH17.8
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Oak Harbor’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearOak HarborRest of OhioOak HarborRest of Ohio
20229.322.61.84.0
2023not reported21.0not reported3.7
202412.219.80.43.9
20257.917.81.13.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

25 crimes reported in 2025

3 violent and 22 property, as reported to the FBI by Oak Harbor’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft21
Burglary0
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
22
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Port ClintonC+10 mi3.010.4
FremontC11 mi2.217.7
OregonD19 mi2.136.1
SanduskyC−22 mi2.522.6
Perrysburg TownshipB+23 mi0.411.2
Perkins TownshipC24 mi1.024.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Oak Harbor. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Oak Harbor.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Oak Harbor’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Oak Harbor’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Oak Harbor’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Oak Harbor and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Oak Harbor
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Oak Harbor. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Oak Harbor’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,783 in 2025); our figure for Oak Harbor is 2,780 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Oak Harbor

Is Oak Harbor, OH safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Oak Harbor. Oak Harbor’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Port Clinton (C+, 10 mi), Fremont (C, 11 mi), Oregon (D, 19 mi).

Who polices Oak Harbor?

Oak Harbor’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Oak Harbor”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Oak Harbor.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Oak Harbor feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.