Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Jamestown

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Jamestown Opera HouseJamestown Opera House · Photo: Nyttend · Public domain
Safety in Jamestown · Not graded

Crime reported in Jamestown, OH

Jamestown has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
15
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Xenia (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 7 property crimes reported

And no violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (7.3)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Jamestown0.0
Rest of OH4.0
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Jamestown7.3
Rest of OH22.6
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Jamestown’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearJamestownRest of OhioJamestownRest of Ohio
20227.322.60.04.0
2023not reported21.0not reported3.7
2024not reported19.8not reported3.9
2025not reported17.8not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

15 crimes reported in 2022

0 violent and 15 property, as reported to the FBI by Jamestown’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft11
Burglary3
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
15
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
XeniaC+11 mi2.315.4
Yellow SpringsB−13 mi1.312.4
FairbornC+17 mi2.712.2
BeavercreekC+18 mi0.619.5
BellbrookA18 mi0.33.7
Washington Court HouseB−19 mi1.511.4

Straight-line distance from the center of Jamestown. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Jamestown.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Jamestown’s roads in 2019–2023

Jamestown had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Jamestown’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Jamestown’s own rate (17.9) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
17.9
per 100,000 a year · Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Jamestown and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Jamestown
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Jamestown. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Jamestown’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,056 in 2022); our figure for Jamestown is 2,121 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Jamestown

Is Jamestown, OH safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Jamestown. Jamestown has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Xenia (C+, 11 mi), Yellow Springs (B−, 13 mi), Fairborn (C+, 17 mi).

Who polices Jamestown?

Jamestown’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Jamestown”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Jamestown.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Jamestown feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.