Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clearcreek Township

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Tarlton Cross Mound from the southPhoto: Nyttend · Public domain
Safety in Clearcreek Township · Not graded

Safety in Clearcreek Township, OH: what is reported

Clearcreek Township’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Circleville is the only graded town within 10 miles. Within a 25-mile drive lie 11 towns that have a grade.

Violent crimes
8
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
68
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Circleville (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

Property crime (3.4)Violent crime (0.4)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clearcreek Township0.4
Rest of OH3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clearcreek Township3.4
Rest of OH17.9
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Clearcreek Township’s police reported

Show as a table
YearClearcreek TownshipRest of OhioClearcreek TownshipRest of Ohio
20223.522.60.54.0
2023not reported21.0not reported3.7
20244.119.90.43.9
20253.417.90.43.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

76 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft55
Burglary6
Vehicle theft7
Aggravated assault6
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
8
violent crimes
68
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

8 violent and 68 property, as reported to the FBI by Clearcreek Township’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
CirclevilleC8 mi2.621.4
AshvilleA−13 mi1.04.5
LancasterC−13 mi4.119.7
South BloomfieldB+14 mi0.97.2
Madison TownshipA17 mi0.62.8
GroveportB19 mi1.49.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Clearcreek Township. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Clearcreek Township.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Five people died in crashes on Clearcreek Township’s roads in 2019–2023

Clearcreek Township had 4 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died.

That is more than is typical for Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Clearcreek Township’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Clearcreek Township’s own rate (24.2) is context, not a ranking.

5
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
24.2
per 100,000 a year · Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Clearcreek Township and its neighbors

Saltcreek Township: not gradedAmanda Township: not gradedWashington Township: not gradedMadison Township: not gradedPerry Township: not gradedPickaway Township: not gradedSaltcreek TownshipAmanda TownshipWashington TownshipMadison TownshipPerry TownshipPickaway TownshipClearcreek Township
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Saltcreek Township———
Amanda Township———
Washington Township———
Madison Township———
Pickaway Township———
Perry Township———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Saltcreek Township, Amanda Township, Washington Township, Madison Township, Pickaway Township and Perry Township have no FBI figures of their own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Clearcreek Township. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Clearcreek Township’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (20,122 in 2025); our figure for Clearcreek Township is 4,165 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Clearcreek Township

Is Clearcreek Township, OH safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Clearcreek Township. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Circleville (C, 8 mi), Ashville (A−, 13 mi), Lancaster (C−, 13 mi).

Who polices Clearcreek Township?

Clearcreek Township’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Clearcreek Township”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Clearcreek Township feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Clearcreek Township.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.