Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Bridgeport

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Downtown Bridgeport, OhioPhoto: Nyttend · Public domain
Safety in Bridgeport · Not graded

Crime reported in Bridgeport, OH

Bridgeport’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Martins Ferry (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 1 property crime reported

And no violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (0.7)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Bridgeport0.0
Rest of OH3.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Bridgeport0.7
Rest of OH17.8
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Bridgeport’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Ohio. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearBridgeportRest of OhioBridgeportRest of Ohio
20223.222.60.04.0
2023not reported21.0not reported3.7
20240.019.80.03.9
20250.717.80.03.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

1 crime reported in 2025

0 violent and 1 property, as reported to the FBI by Bridgeport’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft0
Burglary1
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
1
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Ohio towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Martins FerryB−3 mi3.64.6
BellaireB−3 mi3.27.1
St. ClairsvilleA+8 mi0.11.4
CadizA−18 mi1.24.2
SteubenvilleC−21 mi1.129.4
WintersvilleB22 mi1.310.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Bridgeport. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Bridgeport.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Bridgeport’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Bridgeport’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Bridgeport’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Ohio towns of 2,500–5,000: 9.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Bridgeport and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Pease Township———
Martins FerryB−3.64.6

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Pease Township has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Bridgeport. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Bridgeport’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,520 in 2025); our figure for Bridgeport is 1,523 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Bridgeport

Is Bridgeport, OH safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Bridgeport. Bridgeport’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Ohio towns with a grade are Martins Ferry (B−, 3 mi), Bellaire (B−, 3 mi), St. Clairsville (A+, 8 mi).

Who polices Bridgeport?

Bridgeport’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Bridgeport”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Bridgeport.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Bridgeport feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.