Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clovis

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Aerial view of Clovis, New Mexico skylinePhoto: Quintin Soloviev · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Clovis · Not graded

Crime reported in Clovis, NM

Clovis’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
139
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
578
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
20 mi
Portales (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 16 property crimes reported

And about 4 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (15.5)Violent crime (3.7)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clovis3.7
Rest of NM7.3
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Clovis15.5
Rest of NM29.5
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Clovis’ police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of New Mexico. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearClovisRest of New MexicoClovisRest of New Mexico
202224.039.06.99.8
202322.838.45.59.5
2024not reported36.4not reported8.6
202515.529.53.77.3

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

717 crimes reported in 2025

139 violent and 578 property, as reported to the FBI by Clovis’ police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft402
Burglary117
Vehicle theft59
Aggravated assault124
Robbery8
Rape5
Homicide2
Arson3
139
violent crimes
578
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest New Mexico towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
PortalesD20 mi6.320.2
RoswellD106 mi8.125.7
HobbsD−118 mi7.939.0
ArtesiaC−130 mi3.723.8
EuniceC138 mi3.716.1
ClaytonB139 mi2.55.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Clovis. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Clovis.

On the roads

19 people died in crashes on Clovis’s roads in 2019–2023

Clovis had 18 fatal crashes in five years, in which 19 people died; 6 were pedestrians.

That is 10.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, about the same as the median for New Mexico towns of 25,000–100,000 people (9.8, 8 towns).

19
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
6
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
10.0
per 100,000 a year · New Mexico towns of 25,000–100,000: 9.8

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Clovis and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Clovis
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Clovis. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Clovis’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (37,320 in 2025); our figure for Clovis is 37,127 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Clovis

Is Clovis, NM safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Clovis. Clovis’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest New Mexico towns with a grade are Portales (D, 20 mi), Roswell (D, 106 mi), Hobbs (D−, 118 mi).

Who polices Clovis?

Clovis’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Clovis”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Clovis.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Clovis feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.