Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Northumberland

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Northumberland NH 10-3-25APhoto: Ascended Dreamer · CC BY 4.0
Northumberland Public Library

Northumberland’s library runs 20 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60 for libraries its size

Northumberland Public Library serves Northumberland’s 2,120 residents. Last year it lent 8,604 books, movies and e-books and drew 754 people to its programs.

31 State Street, Groveton 03582 · about 28 hours a week
B+Civic lifeAhead of 67% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
8,604
4.1 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
43
about 1 a week · 754 attended
Cardholders
75%
1,580 cards
Open
28 hrs
a week
In brief

What Northumberland’s library is like

A small-town library

Northumberland Public Library serves 2,120 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 28 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

A big collection for the borrowing it gets

Northumberland Public Library holds 20,000 books and other items, but the average item went out less than once last year. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Northumberland’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Northumberland is ahead of 67% of U.S. towns. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Northumberland is graded on two of the three inputs. Northumberland’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Northumberland’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 67%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $30K–$50K (2,063)Ahead of 72%

The survey’s stand-in for Northumberland’s 2024 visits carries forward a 2023 figure, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Northumberland is small (2,096 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

11 community nonprofits are registered in Northumberland

6.1 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.44 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation20.88 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans52.64 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services10.44 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.44 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other21.32 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (2 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.9%

6.9% of Northumberland’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.9% in the typical New Hampshire town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Northumberland’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 3.2 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 58%
Digital borrowing 0.8 e-items · typical 1Lower than 54%
Kids’ borrowing 0.3 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 87%
Program attendance 0.4 attendees · typical 0.7Lower than 69%
Programs offered 20.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Lower than 78%
Cardholders 75% of residents · typical 54%Higher than 66%
Spending $32 per resident · typical $54Lower than 78%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Northumberland Public Library serves 2,120 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 6 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

8,604
loans, print + digital
4.1 per resident
43
programs & events
754 attended
1,580
library cards
75% of people served
Every open hour6items borrowed
Every week15people at a program
Every day1Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers20K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

8,604 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

8,604loans
Books & media (adults) 73%Kids’ books & media 7%E-books, audio & streaming 20%
How hard the shelves work
0.3×

Each of the 20K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.3 time last year, on average.

From your couch

1,760 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

43 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Northumberland →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–537
Ages 6–116
Teens0
Adults0
All ages0
Little ones
0.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
2

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Northumberland last year.

754
people at programs
43
programs
The building

Find it

Northumberland Public Library, 31 State Street, Groveton.

28
hours open a week
2,240
square feet
20K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Northumberland? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.19 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Northumberland cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$32 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $68K.

Local taxes 97%Gifts & other 3%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $149K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $68K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,580 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Northumberland ranks 2nd of 3 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
LancasterWilliam D. Weeks Memorial Library fine-free8.634B+
NorthumberlandNorthumberland Public Library fine-free4.128B+
StratfordStratford Public Library fine-free2.521— under 1,000 residents
MaidstoneNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
GuildhallNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
StarkNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Northumberland Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2023 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Northumberland

Does Northumberland have a public library?

Yes. Northumberland Public Library, 31 State Street, serves Northumberland’s 2,120 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 28 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Northumberland Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Northumberland’s library?

It lent 4.1 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 43 programs that drew 754 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Northumberland’s civic life grade?

B+ Northumberland is ahead of 67% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Northumberland.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.