Photo: Ascended Dreamer · CC BY 4.0Patten-North Haverhill Library serves 4,636 people in and around North Haverhill
Patten-North Haverhill Library serves 4,636 people in and around North Haverhill.
The short version on North Haverhill’s library
Open only about 10 hours a week
Patten-North Haverhill Library keeps short hours: about 10 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓
Patten-North Haverhill Library serves more than North Haverhill
The library’s service area covers 4,636 people in and around North Haverhill, so its per-resident numbers are measured against that wider population.
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
What’s behind North Haverhill’s civic life grade
North Haverhill isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
A year at Patten-North Haverhill Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Find it
Patten-North Haverhill Library, 2885 Dartmouth College Highway, North Haverhill.















No late fees. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.
New in North Haverhill? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average North Haverhill resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 4,636 people it serves ÷ 12.
Libraries next door
Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.
Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: visits. Patten-North Haverhill Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in North Haverhill
Does North Haverhill have a public library?
Yes. Patten-North Haverhill Library, 2885 Dartmouth College Highway, serves 4,636 people in and around North Haverhill (the survey’s count) and is open about 10 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Patten-North Haverhill Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is North Haverhill’s library?
It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.
What is North Haverhill’s civic life grade?
North Haverhill isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in North Haverhill.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.