Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Groveton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
GrovetonNHPhoto: Ken Gallager at English Wikipedia · Public domain
Northumberland Public Library

Groveton’s library runs 20 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60 for libraries its size

Northumberland Public Library serves 2,120 people in and around Groveton. Last year it lent 8,604 books, movies and e-books and drew 754 people to its programs.

31 State Street, Groveton 03582 · about 28 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
8,604
4.1 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
43
about 1 a week · 754 attended
Cardholders
75%
1,580 cards
Open
28 hrs
a week
In brief

What Groveton’s library is like

A small-town library

Northumberland Public Library serves 2,120 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 28 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Northumberland Public Library serves more than Groveton

The library’s service area covers 2,120 people in and around Groveton, so its per-resident numbers are measured against that wider population. How it compares ↓

A big collection for the borrowing it gets

Northumberland Public Library holds 20,000 books and other items, but the average item went out less than once last year. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Groveton’s civic life grade

Groveton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Groveton’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 3.2 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 58%
Digital borrowing 0.8 e-items · typical 1Lower than 54%
Kids’ borrowing 0.3 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 87%
Program attendance 0.4 attendees · typical 0.7Lower than 69%
Programs offered 20.3 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Lower than 78%
Cardholders 75% of residents · typical 54%Higher than 66%
Spending $32 per resident · typical $54Lower than 78%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Northumberland Public Library serves 2,120 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 6 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

8,604
loans, print + digital
4.1 per resident
43
programs & events
754 attended
1,580
library cards
75% of people served
Every open hour6items borrowed
Every week15people at a program
Every day1Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers20K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

8,604 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

8,604loans
Books & media (adults) 73%Kids’ books & media 7%E-books, audio & streaming 20%
How hard the shelves work
0.3×

Each of the 20K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.3 time last year, on average.

From your couch

1,760 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

43 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Groveton →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–537
Ages 6–116
Teens0
Adults0
All ages0
Little ones
0.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

581
kids’ books & media borrowed
754
people at programs
43
programs
The building

Find it

Northumberland Public Library, 31 State Street, Groveton.

28
hours open a week
2,240
square feet
20K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Groveton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $2.19 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Groveton cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$32 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $68K.

Local taxes 97%Gifts & other 3%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $149K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $68K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 1,580 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Northumberland Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Groveton

Does Groveton have a public library?

Yes. Northumberland Public Library, 31 State Street, serves 2,120 people in and around Groveton (the survey’s count) and is open about 28 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Northumberland Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Groveton’s library?

It lent 4.1 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 43 programs that drew 754 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Groveton’s civic life grade?

Groveton isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Groveton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.