Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Claremont

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Claremont NH 5-17-26Photo: Ascended Dreamer · CC BY-SA 4.0
Fiske Free Library

Claremont’s library runs 7.4 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 24 for libraries its size

Fiske Free Library serves Claremont’s 12,953 residents. Last year it lent 43K books, movies and e-books and drew 442 people to its programs.

108 Broad Street, Claremont 03743 · about 44 hours a week
C+Civic lifeAhead of 40% of U.S. towns · #86 of 126 in New Hampshire. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
43K
3.3 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
96
about 2 a week · 442 attended
Cardholders
59%
7,601 cards
Open
44 hrs
a week
In brief

Claremont’s library, in brief

Programs are almost all for children

91% of the 96 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including 35 for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Still charges late fines, unlike its neighbors

Fiske Free Library charges late fines on some overdue items. Five of the six libraries in neighboring towns have dropped them. What your card is worth ↓

Few programs for a library this size

Fiske Free Library offered 96 programs last year, 7.4 per 1,000 residents against a typical 24. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Claremont’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Claremont is ahead of 40% of U.S. towns, #86 of 126 in New Hampshire. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Claremont is graded on two of the three inputs. Claremont’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

C+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Claremont’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 40%
FewerMore
New Hampshire towns we grade (126)Ahead of 32%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $44K–$74K (7,451)Ahead of 37%

The survey’s stand-in for Claremont’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Most U.S. towns with similar household incomes ($44K–$74K) score higher, so income alone doesn’t account for it.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

58 community nonprofits are registered in Claremont

4.4 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture50.38 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation60.46 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans171.30 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services80.61 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education110.84 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health50.38 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals20.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other40.31 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (7 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 1 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

6.1%

6.1% of Claremont’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.9% in the typical New Hampshire town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Claremont’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 2.7 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 66%
Digital borrowing 0.6 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 68%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.4Bottom 10%
Programs offered 7.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Lower than 89%
Cardholders 59% of residents · typical 40%Higher than 78%
Spending $34 per resident · typical $43Lower than 63%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in NH
#105Most library borrowingof 120 towns
Size group

Fiske Free Library serves 12,953 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 19 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

43K
loans, print + digital
3.3 per resident
96
programs & events
442 attended
7,601
library cards
59% of people served
Every open hour19items borrowed
Every week9people at a program
5 staff (full-time equivalent)4 public computers53K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

43K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Claremont’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

How hard the shelves work
0.7×

Each of the 53K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.7 time last year, on average.

From your couch

8,360 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 2 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Claremont →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–535
Ages 6–1152
Teens4
Adults2
All ages3
Little ones
0.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

442
people at programs
96
programs
The building

Find it

Fiske Free Library, 108 Broad Street, Claremont.

44
hours open a week
7,800
square feet
53K
books & media
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Claremont? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.64 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Claremont cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$34 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $440K.

Local taxes 99%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $721K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $440K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 7,601 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Claremont ranks 3rd of 6 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
NewportRichards Free Library fine-free5.946B
CornishGeorge H. Stowell Free Library fine-free5.915C+
ClaremontFiske Free Library3.344C+
CharlestownSilsby Free Public Library fine-free1.630B−
WeathersfieldWeathersfield Proctor fine-free1.332C+
AscutneyWeathersfield Proctor fine-free1.332— under 1,000 residents
UnityUnity Free Public Library——D

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Fiske Free Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Claremont

Does Claremont have a public library?

Yes. Fiske Free Library, 108 Broad Street, serves Claremont’s 12,953 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 44 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Fiske Free Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Claremont’s library?

It lent 3.3 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 96 programs that drew 442 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Claremont’s civic life grade?

C+ Claremont is ahead of 40% of U.S. towns on civic life, #86 of 126 in New Hampshire. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Claremont.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.