Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Grafton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Grafton, North DakotaPhoto: Andrew Filer · CC BY-SA 2.0
Carnegie Regional Library

Grafton’s library logs 4.3 visits per resident, against a typical 3.1 for libraries its size

Carnegie Regional Library serves 10,563 people in and around Grafton. Last year it lent 9,485 books, movies and e-books and logged 45K visits.

49 West 7th Street, Grafton 58237 · about 44 hours a week
ACivic lifeAhead of 95% of U.S. towns · #1 of 22 in North Dakota. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
9,485
0.9 per resident
Visits a year
45K
4.3 per resident · Above typical (3.1)
Programs & events
68
about 1 a week · 559 attended
Cardholders
6%
662 cards
Open
44 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

Grafton’s library, in brief

Programs are almost all for children

91% of the 68 programs last year were for ages 11 and under, including about 1 a week for ages 0–5. Kids & programs ↓

Few programs for a library this size

Carnegie Regional Library offered 68 programs last year, 6.4 per 1,000 residents against a typical 24. Kids & programs ↓

People visit, but borrow less than most

Carnegie Regional Library lends 0.9 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people, fewer than 92% of similar-size libraries, though visits are closer to typical. What people borrow ↓

Almost all the borrowing is off the shelf

Only 0% of loans are e-books, audiobooks or streaming, fewer per resident than at 99% of similar-size libraries. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Carnegie Regional Library serves 10,563 people in and around Grafton, and its numbers cover all of them.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Grafton’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Grafton is ahead of 95% of U.S. towns, #1 of 22 in North Dakota. Grafton is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Grafton’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Grafton’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 95%
FewerMore
North Dakota towns we grade (22)#1 of 22
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $47K–$78K (8,222)Ahead of 94%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Grafton is small (4,023 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

40 community nonprofits are registered in Grafton

9.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation71.71 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans112.68 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services81.95 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education40.98 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health20.49 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals10.24 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other61.46 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (11 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

9.8%

9.8% of Grafton’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 6.9% in the typical North Dakota town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Grafton’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 8 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 4.3 visits · typical 3.1Higher than 69%
Borrowing per resident 0.9 print items · typical 3.9Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1.1Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.2 kids’ items · typical 1.8Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.4Bottom 10%
Programs offered 6.4 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Bottom 10%
Cardholders 6% of residents · typical 40%Bottom 10%
Spending $17 per resident · typical $43Lower than 87%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Carnegie Regional Library serves 10,563 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

A year at Carnegie Regional Library

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Carnegie Regional Library system. The library’s own count.

45K
visits
4.3 per resident
9,485
loans, print + digital
0.9 per resident
68
programs & events
559 attended
662
library cards
6% of people served
Every week11people at a program
Every day33Wi-Fi sessions
2 staff (full-time equivalent)4 public computers

Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

9,485 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

9,485loans
Books & media (adults) 72%Kids’ books & media 28%E-books, audio & streaming 0%
Kids & programs

About 1 kids’ program a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Grafton →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–552
Ages 6–1110
Teens0
Adults6
All ages0
Little ones
1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

2,629
kids’ books & media borrowed
559
people at programs
68
programs
The building

Find it

Carnegie Regional Library, 49 West 7th Street, Grafton.

44
hours open a week
9,711
square feet
With a card

Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Carnegie Regional Library branch.

New in Grafton? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.07 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Grafton cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
2
Your card saves you about
$276
a year at retail prices · $23 a month

Who pays for it
$17 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $177K.

Local taxes 88%State 6%Gifts & other 6%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $190K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $177K budget.

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 662 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
GraftonCarnegie Regional Library—44A
Oakwood TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Grafton TownshipNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: hours open. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Carnegie Regional Library serves 10,563 people in and around Grafton, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Grafton.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Grafton

Does Grafton have a public library?

Yes. Carnegie Regional Library, 49 West 7th Street, serves 10,563 people in and around Grafton (the survey’s count) and is open about 44 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Carnegie Regional Library fine-free?

It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Grafton’s library?

It logged 4.3 visits and lent 0.9 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Grafton’s civic life grade?

A Grafton is ahead of 95% of U.S. towns on civic life, #1 of 22 in North Dakota. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Grafton.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.