Photo: Andrew Filer · CC BY-SA 2.0Crime reported in Burlington, ND
Burlington’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.
For every 1,000 residents, about 4 property crimes reported
And about 1 violent crime, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023
Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
The years Burlington’s police reported
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Dakota. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
Show as a table
| Year | Burlington | Rest of North Dakota | Burlington | Rest of North Dakota |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 0.0 | 26.7 | 0.0 | 3.5 |
| 2023 | 3.9 | 26.0 | 0.8 | 3.4 |
| 2024 | not reported | 23.4 | not reported | 3.3 |
| 2025 | not reported | 20.1 | not reported | 2.8 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
6 crimes reported in 2023
1 violent and 5 property, as reported to the FBI by Burlington’s police.
2023 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
The nearest North Dakota towns with a Safety Grade
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Straight-line distance from the center of Burlington. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Burlington.
No one died in a crash on Burlington’s roads in 2019–2023
That is about what is typical for North Dakota towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Burlington’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Burlington’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Burlington and its neighbors
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harrison Township | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Harrison Township has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Burlington. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Burlington’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,297 in 2023); our figure for Burlington is 1,350 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Burlington
Is Burlington, ND safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Burlington. Burlington’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest North Dakota towns with a grade are Minot (C, 6 mi), New Town (A+, 53 mi), Beulah (B+, 70 mi).
Who polices Burlington?
Burlington’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Burlington”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Neighbors looking out for each other in Burlington.
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.