Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hope Mills

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Big Rockfish Presbyterian ChurchBig Rockfish Presbyterian Church · Photo: Gerry Dincher · CC BY-SA 2.0
Safety in Hope Mills · Not graded

Safety in Hope Mills, NC: what is reported

A 25-mile circle around it holds 7 towns with a grade. Of the graded towns, Fayetteville is the closest, at D. Hope Mills’ police reported to the FBI for 2023 but not 2024 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
75
reported to the FBI, 2023
Property crimes
641
reported to the FBI, 2023
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Fayetteville (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 36 property crimes reported

Property crime (35.9)Violent crime (4.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Hope Mills4.2
Rest of NC5.5
U.S. (FBI)3.9

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2023

Hope Mills35.9
Rest of NC29.6
U.S. (FBI)19.5

Crimes reported to police in 2023 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 4 violent crimes, in 2023. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Hope Mills’ police reported

Show as a table
YearHope MillsRest of North CarolinaHope MillsRest of North Carolina
202237.328.84.45.7
202335.929.64.25.5
2024not reported28.8not reported5.3
2025not reported25.2not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

716 crimes reported in 2023

2023 offenses reported

Larceny / theft478
Burglary97
Vehicle theft66
Aggravated assault55
Robbery18
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson1
75
violent crimes
641
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

75 violent and 641 property, as reported to the FBI by Hope Mills’ police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
FayettevilleD8 mi7.129.7
St. PaulsD−11 mi4.864.6
Spring LakeD15 mi5.231.6
RaefordB−15 mi1.413.1
Red SpringsD−17 mi6.649.8
LumbertonD−24 mi16.5100.9

Straight-line distance from the center of Hope Mills. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Hope Mills.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Six people died in crashes on Hope Mills’s roads in 2019–2023

Hope Mills had 6 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died.

That is about what is typical for North Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (7.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Hope Mills’s size would see about 7 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Hope Mills’s own rate (6.7) is context, not a ranking.

6
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
6.7
per 100,000 a year · North Carolina towns of 5,000–25,000: 7.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Hope Mills and its neighbors

Fayetteville: Safety Grade DFayettevilleHope Mills
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
FayettevilleD7.129.7

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Hope Mills. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Hope Mills’ residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (17,838 in 2023); our figure for Hope Mills is 18,324 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Hope Mills

Is Hope Mills, NC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Hope Mills. The nearest North Carolina towns with a grade are Fayetteville (D, 8 mi), St. Pauls (D−, 11 mi), Spring Lake (D, 15 mi).

Who polices Hope Mills?

Hope Mills’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Hope Mills”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Hope Mills feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Hope Mills.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2023, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.