Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Dobson

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Surry County CourthouseSurry County Courthouse · Photo: G Keith Hall · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Dobson · Not graded

Crime reported in Dobson, NC

Dobson has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
20
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
10 mi
Mount Airy (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 14 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (14.4)Violent crime (2.2)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Dobson2.2
Rest of NC5.7
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Dobson14.4
Rest of NC28.9
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Dobson’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of North Carolina. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearDobsonRest of North CarolinaDobsonRest of North Carolina
202214.428.92.25.7
2023not reported29.6not reported5.5
2024not reported28.8not reported5.3
2025not reported25.2not reported4.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

23 crimes reported in 2022

3 violent and 20 property, as reported to the FBI by Dobson’s police.

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft17
Burglary3
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault2
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
20
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest North Carolina towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Mount AiryC−10 mi2.525.0
ElkinD11 mi4.542.5
JonesvilleD12 mi2.444.5
YadkinvilleC18 mi2.518.1
KingB−22 mi0.716.3
North WilkesboroC−28 mi2.424.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Dobson. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Dobson.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Dobson’s roads in 2019–2023

Dobson had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Dobson’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Dobson’s own rate (24.2) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
24.2
per 100,000 a year · North Carolina towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Dobson and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Dobson
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Dobson. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Dobson’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,386 in 2022); our figure for Dobson is 1,474 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Dobson

Is Dobson, NC safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Dobson. Dobson has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest North Carolina towns with a grade are Mount Airy (C−, 10 mi), Elkin (D, 11 mi), Jonesville (D, 12 mi).

Who polices Dobson?

Dobson’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Dobson”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Dobson.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Dobson feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.