Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Culbertson

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Culbertson, MT. 1998 (10163541615)Photo: Robert Ashworth from Bellingham, WA., USA · CC BY 2.0
Culbertson Public Library · part of Roosevelt County Library

Culbertson’s library is a branch of Roosevelt County Library, which lends less per resident than 92% of systems its size

Culbertson’s library is the Culbertson Public Library, a branch of Roosevelt County Library, which serves 10,794 people and lent 12K items last year.

307 Broadway Ave, Culbertson 59218 · about 18 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
12K
1.1 per resident
Visits a year
37K
3.5 per resident · Above typical (3.1)
Cardholders
45%
4,876 cards
Open
18 hrs
a week at this branch
In brief

The short version on Culbertson’s library

Open only about 18 hours a week

The Culbertson branch keeps short hours: about 18 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

People visit, but borrow less than most

The Roosevelt County Library system lends 0.9 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people, fewer than 92% of similar-size libraries, though visits are closer to typical. What people borrow ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Culbertson’s library is a branch of Roosevelt County Library, so they cover the whole system (10,794 people), not just the Culbertson branch.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Culbertson’s civic life grade

Culbertson isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Culbertson’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 2 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 3.5 visits · typical 3.1Higher than 56%
Borrowing per resident 0.9 print items · typical 3.9Bottom 10%
Digital borrowing 0.3 e-items · typical 1.1Lower than 87%
Kids’ borrowing 0 kids’ items · typical 1.8Bottom 10%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.4Bottom 10%
Cardholders 45% of residents · typical 40%Higher than 60%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Roosevelt County Library serves 10,794 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 3 items go out

Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Roosevelt County Library system. The library’s own count.

37K
visits
3.5 per resident
12K
loans, print + digital
1.1 per resident
4,876
library cards
45% of people served
Every open hour3items borrowed
Every week14people at a program
Every day10Wi-Fi sessions
6 staff (full-time equivalent)12 public computers

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

12K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

12Kloans
Books & media (adults) 71%Kids’ books & media 4%E-books, audio & streaming 24%
From your couch

2,946 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card.

Kids & programs

About 2 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.

Schools in Culbertson →
Little ones
1.2

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

539
kids’ books & media borrowed
724
people at programs
0
programs
The building

Find it

Culbertson Public Library, 307 Broadway Ave, Culbertson.

18
hours open a week
2,500
square feet
With a card

E-books and audiobooks from home. Good at every Roosevelt County Library branch.

New in Culbertson? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Culbertson cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 4,876 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • System-wide. Culbertson Public Library is one branch of Roosevelt County Library, so the yearly numbers cover every branch and all 10,794 people it serves.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Culbertson

Does Culbertson have a public library?

Yes: Culbertson Public Library, 307 Broadway Ave, is a branch of Roosevelt County Library, which serves 10,794 people. The branch is open about 18 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Roosevelt County Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Culbertson’s library?

It logged 3.5 visits and lent 1.1 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.1 visits for libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people.

What is Culbertson’s civic life grade?

Culbertson isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Culbertson.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.