Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Columbia

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
U.S. Post OfficeU.S. Post Office · Photo: Gabriel D. May · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Columbia · Not graded

Crime reported in Columbia, MS

Columbia’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
12
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
179
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
30 mi
Hattiesburg (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 28 property crimes reported

And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (27.6)Violent crime (1.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Columbia1.9
Rest of MS3.1
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Columbia27.6
Rest of MS19.1
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Columbia’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Mississippi. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearColumbiaRest of MississippiColumbiaRest of Mississippi
2022not reported25.1not reported2.9
2023not reported24.5not reported2.5
2024not reported22.1not reported2.5
202527.619.11.93.1

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

191 crimes reported in 2025

12 violent and 179 property, as reported to the FBI by Columbia’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft158
Burglary17
Vehicle theft4
Aggravated assault8
Robbery2
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
12
violent crimes
179
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Mississippi towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
HattiesburgD30 mi2.437.6
PoplarvilleC+34 mi1.416.2
PetalA35 mi0.74.1
EllisvilleB−43 mi1.813.3
WigginsC−49 mi2.627.1
LaurelD−49 mi9.438.7

Straight-line distance from the center of Columbia. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Columbia.

On the roads

Three people died in crashes on Columbia’s roads in 2019–2023

Columbia had 3 fatal crashes in five years, in which three people died.

That is about what is typical for Mississippi towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (11.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Columbia’s size would see about 4 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Columbia’s own rate (9.0) is context, not a ranking.

3
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
9.0
per 100,000 a year · Mississippi towns of 5,000–25,000: 11.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Columbia and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Columbia
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Columbia. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Columbia’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (6,478 in 2025); our figure for Columbia is 6,525 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Columbia

Is Columbia, MS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Columbia. Columbia’s police reported to the FBI for 2025 but not 2023 or 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Mississippi towns with a grade are Hattiesburg (D, 30 mi), Poplarville (C+, 34 mi), Petal (A, 35 mi).

Who polices Columbia?

Columbia’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Columbia”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Columbia.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Columbia feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.