Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Parkville

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Mckay-hall-parkvillePhoto: The original uploader was Americasroof at English Wikipedia. · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Parkville · Not graded

Crime in Parkville: the figures, without a grade

Riverside, 5 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (D−). The surrounding 10 miles hold 3 graded places to compare with. Parkville’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
74
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
5 mi
Riverside (D−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 8 property crimes reported

Property crime (7.9)Violent crime (0.3)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Parkville0.3
Rest of MO5.5
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Parkville7.9
Rest of MO22.9
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And fewer than 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Parkville’s police reported

Show as a table
YearParkvilleRest of MissouriParkvilleRest of Missouri
202214.631.91.06.4
2023not reported28.8not reported5.9
20247.427.01.26.0
20257.922.90.35.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Missouri. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

77 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft51
Burglary11
Vehicle theft12
Aggravated assault1
Robbery1
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
74
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

3 violent and 74 property, as reported to the FBI by Parkville’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Missouri towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
RiversideD−5 mi5.051.9
GladstoneC8 mi3.517.2
North Kansas CityD−9 mi7.983.4
Kansas CityD−10 mi14.645.3
Platte CityB−10 mi2.211.7
Pleasant ValleyB12 mi1.68.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Parkville. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Parkville.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Six people died in crashes on Parkville’s roads in 2019–2023

Parkville had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which six people died; 1 was a pedestrian. Most of these deaths (5 of 6) were on an Interstate passing through, so they say more about through-traffic than about the town’s own streets.

That is about what is typical for Missouri towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (7.6 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Parkville’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Parkville’s own rate (14.3) is context, not a ranking.

6
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
14.3
per 100,000 a year · Missouri towns of 5,000–25,000: 7.6

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Parkville and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
RiversideD−5.051.9
Kansas CityD−14.645.3

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Parkville. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Parkville’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (9,406 in 2025); our figure for Parkville is 9,093 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Parkville

Is Parkville, MO safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Parkville. The nearest Missouri towns with a grade are Riverside (D−, 5 mi), Gladstone (C, 8 mi), North Kansas City (D−, 9 mi).

Who polices Parkville?

Parkville’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Parkville”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Parkville feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Parkville.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.