Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Holts Summit

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Holts SummitPhoto: Roastedbeanz1 · CC BY 4.0
Safety in Holts Summit · Not graded

Crime reported in Holts Summit, MO

Holts Summit’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
1
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
6 mi
Jefferson City (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, fewer than 1 property crime reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (0.2)Violent crime (1.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Holts Summit1.1
Rest of MO6.0
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Holts Summit0.2
Rest of MO27.0
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Holts Summit’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Missouri. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearHolts SummitRest of MissouriHolts SummitRest of Missouri
20226.331.90.76.4
2023not reported28.8not reported5.9
20240.227.01.16.0
2025not reported22.9not reported5.4

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

7 crimes reported in 2024

6 violent and 1 property, as reported to the FBI by Holts Summit’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft0
Burglary1
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault4
Robbery0
Rape2
Homicide0
Arson0
6
violent crimes
1
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Missouri towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Jefferson CityC−6 mi3.319.6
AshlandA−13 mi1.14.7
FultonB+17 mi1.28.1
LinnB19 mi1.67.5
ColumbiaC−24 mi3.622.3
AuxvasseC−28 mi4.316.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Holts Summit. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Holts Summit.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Holts Summit’s roads in 2019–2023

Holts Summit had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (7.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Holts Summit’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Holts Summit’s own rate (8.7) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
8.7
per 100,000 a year · Missouri towns of 2,500–5,000: 7.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Holts Summit and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Holts Summit
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Holts Summit. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Holts Summit’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,493 in 2024); our figure for Holts Summit is 4,773 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Holts Summit

Is Holts Summit, MO safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Holts Summit. Holts Summit’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Missouri towns with a grade are Jefferson City (C−, 6 mi), Ashland (A−, 13 mi), Fulton (B+, 17 mi).

Who polices Holts Summit?

Holts Summit’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Holts Summit”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Holts Summit.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Holts Summit feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.