Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Union City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Union City · Not graded

Crime reported in Union City, MI

For 2023–2025, the FBI has no crime figures for Union City itself, so it has no Safety Grade. Within a 25-mile drive lie 11 towns that have a grade.

Violent crimes
0
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
22
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
11 mi
Coldwater (C)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 13 property crimes reported

Property crime (12.8)Violent crime (0)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Union City0.0
Rest of MI5.7
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Union City12.8
Rest of MI18.7
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And no violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Union City’s police reported

Show as a table
YearUnion CityRest of MichiganUnion CityRest of Michigan
202212.818.70.05.7
2023not reported19.4not reported5.7
2024not reported17.4not reported5.4
2025not reported15.6not reported5.1

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Michigan. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

22 crimes reported in 2022

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft15
Burglary6
Vehicle theft1
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
0
violent crimes
22
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

0 violent and 22 property, as reported to the FBI by Union City’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Michigan towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
ColdwaterC11 mi2.914.8
ColonB−12 mi1.713.4
BronsonC14 mi1.421.2
Emmett TownshipD15 mi3.545.4
MarshallC+16 mi3.010.9
Battle CreekD−17 mi11.526.0

Straight-line distance from the center of Union City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Union City.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Union City’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Michigan towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (12.4 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Union City’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Union City’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Michigan towns of 2,500–5,000: 12.4

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Union City and its neighbors

Union City
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Union City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Union City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,723 in 2022); our figure for Union City is 1,726 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Union City

Is Union City, MI safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Union City. Union City has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Michigan towns with a grade are Coldwater (C, 11 mi), Colon (B−, 12 mi), Bronson (C, 14 mi).

Who polices Union City?

Union City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Union City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Union City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Union City.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.