Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Yarmouth

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Sparhawk Mill 2018Photo: NewTestLeper79 · CC BY-SA 4.0
Merrill Memorial Library

Yarmouth’s library lends 8.7 print items per resident, against a typical 3.8 for libraries its size

Merrill Memorial Library serves Yarmouth’s 9,026 residents. Last year it lent 89K books, movies and e-books and drew 3,516 people to its programs.

215 Main Street, Yarmouth 04096 · about 43 hours a week
A+Civic lifeAhead of 97% of U.S. towns · #11 of 143 in Maine. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
89K
9.9 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
266
about 5 a week · 3,516 attended
Cardholders
66%
6,000 cards
Open
43 hrs
a week
In brief

What Yarmouth’s library is like

Top 10% in Maine for borrowing

Yarmouth ranks #8 of 98 Maine towns with a library of their own for items borrowed per resident. Print borrowing alone runs 8.7 items per resident, more than at 88% of similar-size libraries nationwide. How it compares ↓

Kids borrow more here than almost anywhere

Children’s books and media are 46% of print loans, and kids’ borrowing per resident is higher than at 86% of similar-size libraries. That works out to about 16 items per child in Yarmouth last year. Kids & programs ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Yarmouth’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Yarmouth is ahead of 97% of U.S. towns, #11 of 143 in Maine. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Yarmouth is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Yarmouth’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A+
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Yarmouth’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 97%
FewerMore
Maine towns we grade (143)Ahead of 93%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $83K–$138K (5,765)Ahead of 98%

The survey’s stand-in for Yarmouth’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Yarmouth is small (9,062 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

80 community nonprofits are registered in Yarmouth

8.8 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: education.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture121.33 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation90.99 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans70.77 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services90.99 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education141.55 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health30.33 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals131.44 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other131.44 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (3 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

10.9%

10.9% of Yarmouth’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 9.0% in the typical Maine town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Yarmouth’s residents live; 2022.

★ What stands out · How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 5 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 8.7 print items · typical 3.8Higher than 88%
Digital borrowing 1.2 e-items · typical 1Higher than 57%
Kids’ borrowing 4 kids’ items · typical 1.6Higher than 86%
Program attendance 0.4 attendees · typical 0.5Lower than 59%
Programs offered 29.5 per 1,000 residents · typical 34Lower than 57%
Cardholders 66% of residents · typical 42%Higher than 77%
Spending $80 per resident · typical $43Higher than 83%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in ME
#8Most library borrowingof 98 towns
#21Best libraries for kidsof 97 towns
Size group

Merrill Memorial Library serves 9,026 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 2,500 to 10,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 40 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

89K
loans, print + digital
9.9 per resident
266
programs & events
3,516 attended
6,000
library cards
66% of people served
Every open hour40items borrowed
Every week68people at a program
8 staff (full-time equivalent)7 public computers44K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Almost half the print loans are kids’ books

89K loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

89Kloans
Books & media (adults) 47%Kids’ books & media 41%E-books, audio & streaming 12%
How hard the shelves work
1.8×

Each of the 44K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.8 times last year, on average.

From your couch

10,640 e-books, e-audiobooks and streams last year. Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 3 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Yarmouth →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–588
Ages 6–1152
Teens26
Adults0
All ages100
Little ones
1.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
16

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Yarmouth last year.

3,516
people at programs
266
programs
The building

Find it

Merrill Memorial Library, 215 Main Street, Yarmouth.

43
hours open a week
17,000
square feet
44K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Yarmouth? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.88 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Yarmouth cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$348
a year at retail prices · $29 a month

Who pays for it
$80 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $719K.

Local taxes 98%Gifts & other 2%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.3M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $719K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 6,000 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Yarmouth ranks 3rd of 4 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
Chebeague IslandChebeague Island Library fine-free13.726— under 1,000 residents
FreeportFreeport Community Library fine-free11.940A+
YarmouthMerrill Memorial Library fine-free9.943A+
CumberlandPrince Memorial Library fine-free8.049A+
North YarmouthNone of its own——B

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Merrill Memorial Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Yarmouth

Does Yarmouth have a public library?

Yes. Merrill Memorial Library, 215 Main Street, serves Yarmouth’s 9,026 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 43 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Merrill Memorial Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Yarmouth’s library?

It lent 9.9 items per resident in 2024 (print and digital) and ran 266 programs that drew 3,516 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Yarmouth’s civic life grade?

A+ Yarmouth is ahead of 97% of U.S. towns on civic life, #11 of 143 in Maine. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Yarmouth.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.