Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Ashland

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Gladys J. Craig Memorial Library

Ashland’s library lends 1.6 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Gladys J. Craig Memorial Library serves Ashland’s 1,931 residents. Last year it lent 3,000 books, movies and e-books and logged 4,202 visits.

57 Exchange Street, Ashland 04732 · about 27 hours a week
BCivic lifeAhead of 62% of U.S. towns. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
3,000
1.6 per resident
Visits a year
4,202
2.2 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Programs & events
36
about 1 a week · 1,454 attended
Cardholders
26%
499 cards
Open
27 hrs
a week
Civic life grade

What’s behind Ashland’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Ashland is ahead of 62% of U.S. towns. Ashland is graded on two of the three inputs. Ashland’s count of community nonprofits holds the grade up; the share of younger adults in volunteering groups pulls it down.

B
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Ashland’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 62%
FewerMore
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $35K–$59K (3,900)Ahead of 62%

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. Ashland is small (1,186 residents), so a few dozen organizations or visits move its per-resident figures; the volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

7 community nonprofits are registered in Ashland

6.7 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: civic groups, clubs & veterans.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture10.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation10.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans22.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services21.48 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education10.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals00.00 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other10.74 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (2 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town.

Volunteering

6.3%

6.3% of Ashland’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 9.0% in the typical Maine town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Ashland’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 7 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.2 visits · typical 3.5Lower than 71%
Borrowing per resident 1.6 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 83%
Digital borrowing 0 e-items · typical 1Bottom 10%
Kids’ borrowing 0.3 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 88%
Program attendance 0.8 attendees · typical 0.7Higher than 53%
Programs offered 18.6 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Lower than 79%
Cardholders 26% of residents · typical 54%Lower than 82%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Gladys J. Craig Memorial Library serves 1,931 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 2 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

4,202
visits
2.2 per resident
3,000
loans, print + digital
1.6 per resident
36
programs & events
1,454 attended
499
library cards
26% of people served
Every open hour2items borrowed
Every week28people at a program
Every day1Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)1 public computers11K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Mostly books and media off the shelf

3,000 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.

3,000loans
Books & media (adults) 83%Kids’ books & media 17%E-books, audio & streaming 0%
How hard the shelves work
0.3×

Each of the 11K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.3 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

36 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Ashland →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–57
Ages 6–1115
Teens3
Adults4
All ages7
Little ones
0.1

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
3

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Ashland last year.

1,454
people at programs
36
programs
The building

Find it

Gladys J. Craig Memorial Library, 57 Exchange Street, Ashland.

27
hours open a week
2,016
square feet
11K
books & media
With a card

Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Ashland? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Ashland cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Late fines apply to some overdue items.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 499 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Who has a library of their own, and how much each town borrows. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
AshlandGladys J. Craig Memorial Library1.627B
Castle HillNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Garfield plantationNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
Nashville plantationNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents
MasardisNone of its own——— under 1,000 residents

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Ashland

Does Ashland have a public library?

Yes. Gladys J. Craig Memorial Library, 57 Exchange Street, serves Ashland’s 1,931 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 27 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Gladys J. Craig Memorial Library fine-free?

It charges late fines on some overdue items (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Ashland’s library?

It logged 2.2 visits and lent 1.6 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Ashland’s civic life grade?

B Ashland is ahead of 62% of U.S. towns on civic life. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Ashland.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.