Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Crisfield

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Crisfield, Maryland water towerPhoto: Acroterion · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Crisfield · Not graded

Crime reported in Crisfield, MD

Crisfield’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
10
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
35
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
17 mi
Pocomoke City (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 14 property crimes reported

And about 4 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (13.7)Violent crime (3.9)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Crisfield3.9
Rest of MD7.3
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Crisfield13.7
Rest of MD27.0
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Crisfield’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Maryland. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearCrisfieldRest of MarylandCrisfieldRest of Maryland
2022not reported27.4not reported10.8
2023not reported30.7not reported8.9
20240.830.30.08.9
202513.727.03.97.3

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

45 crimes reported in 2025

10 violent and 35 property, as reported to the FBI by Crisfield’s police.

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft34
Burglary1
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault9
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
10
violent crimes
35
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Maryland towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Pocomoke CityD17 mi4.930.7
Princess AnneD−18 mi14.240.1
FruitlandC+26 mi1.717.3
Snow HillB29 mi1.96.2
SalisburyD31 mi9.326.6
PittsvilleA38 mi0.61.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Crisfield. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Crisfield.

On the roads

One person died in crashes on Crisfield’s roads in 2019–2023

Crisfield had 1 fatal crash in five years, in which one person died; 1 was a cyclist.

That is about what is typical for Maryland towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (5.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Crisfield’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Crisfield’s own rate (8.0) is context, not a ranking.

1
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
1
cyclist among them
8.0
per 100,000 a year · Maryland towns of 2,500–5,000: 5.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Crisfield and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Crisfield
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Crisfield. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Crisfield’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,546 in 2025); our figure for Crisfield is 2,555 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Crisfield

Is Crisfield, MD safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Crisfield. Crisfield’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Maryland towns with a grade are Pocomoke City (D, 17 mi), Princess Anne (D−, 18 mi), Fruitland (C+, 26 mi).

Who polices Crisfield?

Crisfield’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Crisfield”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Crisfield.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Crisfield feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.