Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Norwell

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Jacobs Farmhouse, 2017, Norwell MAPhoto: John Phelan · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Norwell · Not graded

Crime reported in Norwell, MA

Norwell’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
6
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
55
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
3 mi
Hanover (B+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (4.8)Violent crime (0.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Norwell0.5
Rest of MA3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Norwell4.8
Rest of MA10.3
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Norwell’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Massachusetts. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearNorwellRest of MassachusettsNorwellRest of Massachusetts
20224.810.50.33.2
20235.310.91.23.1
20244.810.30.53.0
2025not reported9.8not reported2.9

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

61 crimes reported in 2024

6 violent and 55 property, as reported to the FBI by Norwell’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft46
Burglary6
Vehicle theft3
Aggravated assault4
Robbery2
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
6
violent crimes
55
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Massachusetts towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
HanoverB+3 mi0.88.6
ScituateA+5 mi0.51.4
HinghamB5 mi1.68.1
RocklandB5 mi2.43.6
MarshfieldA7 mi1.01.6
PembrokeA7 mi0.73.3

Straight-line distance from the center of Norwell. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Norwell.

On the roads

Two people died in crashes on Norwell’s roads in 2019–2023

Norwell had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died.

That is about what is typical for Massachusetts towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (5.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Norwell’s size would see about 3 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Norwell’s own rate (3.5) is context, not a ranking.

2
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
3.5
per 100,000 a year · Massachusetts towns of 5,000–25,000: 5.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Norwell and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
HanoverB+0.88.6
MarshfieldA1.01.6
PembrokeA0.73.3
ScituateA+0.51.4
HinghamB1.68.1
RocklandB2.43.6

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Norwell. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Norwell’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (11,498 in 2024); our figure for Norwell is 11,546 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Norwell

Is Norwell, MA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Norwell. Norwell’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Massachusetts towns with a grade are Hanover (B+, 3 mi), Scituate (A+, 5 mi), Hingham (B, 5 mi).

Who polices Norwell?

Norwell’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Norwell”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Norwell.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Norwell feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.