Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Marblehead

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Marbleheadma1649Photo: Oceanhistory · CC BY-SA 4.0
Abbot Public Library

Marblehead’s library lends 4.8 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Abbot Public Library serves Marblehead’s 20,233 residents. Last year it lent 98K print books and media and drew 8,505 people to its programs.

235 Pleasant Street, Marblehead 01945 · about 47 hours a week
A−Civic lifeAhead of 81% of U.S. towns · #67 of 283 in Massachusetts. Nonprofits and volunteering.
Borrowed a year
98K
4.8 per resident
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Programs & events
442
about 9 a week · 8,505 attended
Cardholders
51%
10,254 cards
Open
47 hrs
a week

What stands out about Marblehead’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Marblehead’s civic life grade

On community nonprofits and volunteering, Marblehead is ahead of 81% of U.S. towns, #67 of 283 in Massachusetts. Its library’s 2024 visits weren’t reported, so Marblehead is graded on two of the three inputs. Both inputs are above most U.S. towns; Marblehead’s count of community nonprofits ranks highest.

A−
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Marblehead’s overall grade.
All U.S. towns we grade (17,556)Ahead of 81%
FewerMore
Massachusetts towns we grade (283)Ahead of 77%
U.S. towns with similar incomes, $137K–$228K (929)Ahead of 76%

The survey’s stand-in for Marblehead’s 2024 visits is its own estimate, so it is left out.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

How sure. Graded on two inputs, so a change in either one moves the letter more than it would with three. The volunteering share is a 2022 estimate from Facebook users aged 25–44.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

Places to belong

141 community nonprofits are registered in Marblehead

6.9 per 1,000 residents, against a U.S. town median of 3.7. The largest group: education.

Community nonprofits, by kind

Arts & culture130.64 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.24
Youth, sports & recreation251.22 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.52
Civic groups, clubs & veterans241.18 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.74
Human services140.69 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.59
Education301.47 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.43
Health30.15 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.16
Environment & animals120.59 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.17
Other200.98 per 1,000 · U.S. towns 0.47

Counted from the IRS list of tax-exempt organizations by mailing address (fractions where a ZIP code spans towns). Congregations are counted apart (7 here), since whether a church registers depends on its denomination, not the town. 3 more name a national or statewide reach and are left out.

Volunteering

8.0%

8.0% of Marblehead’s Facebook users aged 25–44 belong to a volunteering or activism group, against 7.9% in the typical Massachusetts town and 7.5% nationally.

Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. ZIP-code figures, weighted by where Marblehead’s residents live; 2022.

How it compares

Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 4 of 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000 people across the U.S.

Borrowing per resident 4.8 print items · typical 3.9Higher than 60%
Kids’ borrowing 2.1 kids’ items · typical 1.8Higher than 56%
Program attendance 0.4 attendees · typical 0.4Lower than 51%
Programs offered 21.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 24Lower than 54%
Cardholders 51% of residents · typical 40%Higher than 68%
Spending $65 per resident · typical $43Higher than 74%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Ranked in MA
#177Most library borrowingof 268 towns
#205Best libraries for kidsof 268 towns
Size group

Abbot Public Library serves 20,233 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving 10,000 to 25,000.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 49 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

98K
loans, print + digital
4.8 per resident
442
programs & events
8,505 attended
10K
library cards
51% of people served
Every open hour49items borrowed
Every week164people at a program
Every day27Wi-Fi sessions
17 staff (full-time equivalent)4 public computers63K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: visits. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

98K print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

98Kloans
Books & media (adults) 57%Kids’ books & media 43%
How hard the shelves work
1.5×

Each of the 63K books and other items on the shelves went out about 1.5 times last year, on average.

From your couch

Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.

Kids & programs

About 4 kids’ programs a week

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Marblehead →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–5138
Ages 6–1184
Teens17
Adults198
All ages5
Little ones
2.7

story times and programs a week for ages 0–5, on average.

Kids’ books
9

children’s books and media borrowed per child under 18 in Marblehead last year.

8,505
people at programs
442
programs
The building

Find it

Abbot Public Library, 235 Pleasant Street, Marblehead.

47
hours open a week
30,000
square feet
63K
books & media
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Loans renew on their own if no one’s waiting. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Marblehead? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

For every $1 it spends, the library lends about $1.19 worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Marblehead cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$65 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $43. Operating budget $1.3M.

Local taxes 94%State 3%Gifts & other 3%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $1.6M worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $1.3M budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 10,254 cardholders ÷ 12.

Next door

Libraries next door

Marblehead ranks 3rd of 3 for borrowing per resident. Tap a town to see its library.

12+ loans per resident8–124–8Under 4No library / shared system
TownLibraryLoans per residentHoursCivic life
SwampscottSwampscott Public Library fine-free10.454B
SalemSalem Public Library fine-free5.964C+
MarbleheadAbbot Public Library fine-free4.847A−

Loans = print + digital items borrowed in the library’s fiscal year, per person it serves. — = no library of its own, a county or regional system (its numbers cover many towns), or no report. Civic life: — = not graded (unincorporated places, whose nonprofits can’t be placed by mailing address, or towns with fewer than two of the three inputs).

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Abbot Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate is its own, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Digital loans not reported. Massachusetts libraries often don’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Marblehead

Does Marblehead have a public library?

Yes. Abbot Public Library, 235 Pleasant Street, serves Marblehead’s 20,233 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 47 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Abbot Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Marblehead’s library?

It lent 4.8 items per resident in 2024 (print) and ran 442 programs that drew 8,505 people. Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Marblehead’s civic life grade?

A− Marblehead is ahead of 81% of U.S. towns on civic life, #67 of 283 in Massachusetts. The grade combines library visits per resident, community nonprofits per 1,000 residents and the share of adults 25–44 in volunteering groups. It’s a character grade, so it isn’t part of the overall grade. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Marblehead.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.