Photo: Robert Jones · CC BY-SA 4.0Crime reported in Livingston, LA
The closest graded town is Independence, 17 miles away, at D−. Without FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, Livingston has nothing to grade it on. A 25-mile circle around it holds 4 towns with a grade.
For every 1,000 residents, about 14 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Livingston’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Livingston | Rest of Louisiana | Livingston | Rest of Louisiana |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 14.4 | 42.7 | 0.5 | 10.1 |
| 2023 | not reported | 43.2 | not reported | 9.4 |
| 2024 | not reported | 34.5 | not reported | 8.9 |
| 2025 | not reported | 29.6 | not reported | 8.2 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Louisiana. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
29 crimes reported in 2022
2022 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
1 violent and 28 property, as reported to the FBI by Livingston’s police.
The nearest Louisiana towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Independence | D− | 17 mi | 15.7 | 44.3 |
| Hammond | D− | 17 mi | 6.8 | 54.3 |
| Ponchatoula | C− | 18 mi | 4.2 | 23.9 |
| Gonzales | D | 22 mi | 5.2 | 40.3 |
| Baker | C | 25 mi | 4.0 | 15.4 |
| Zachary | C− | 28 mi | 3.3 | 20.7 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Livingston. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Livingston.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Two people died in crashes on Livingston’s roads in 2019–2023
Livingston had 2 fatal crashes in five years, in which two people died; 1 was a pedestrian.
That is about what is typical for Louisiana towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (9.8 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Livingston’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Livingston’s own rate (22.9) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Livingston and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Livingston. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Livingston’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (1,946 in 2022); our figure for Livingston is 2,006 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Livingston
Is Livingston, LA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Livingston. Livingston has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Louisiana towns with a grade are Independence (D−, 17 mi), Hammond (D−, 17 mi), Ponchatoula (C−, 18 mi).
Who polices Livingston?
Livingston’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Livingston”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Livingston.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.