Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Leon

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Leon, Kansas, United States City Hall, bank, more, Jun 15, 2022 09-07-37 AMPhoto: Doncram · CC BY-SA 4.0
Leon Public Library

Leon Public Library serves Leon’s 662 residents

Leon Public Library serves Leon’s 662 residents.

711 N. West St., Leon 67074
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
—
Not reported for 2024
Visits a year
—
Not reported for 2024

What stands out about Leon’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Leon’s civic life grade

Leon isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Leon’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

A year at the library

A year at Leon Public Library

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

Not reported for 2024: visits, print loans, books & media on the shelves, library cards, hours open, spending, funding, staff and public computers. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

The building

Find it

Leon Public Library, 711 N. West St., Leon.

1,608
square feet
With a card

No late fees. E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy.

New in Leon? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Leon resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 662 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: visits. Leon Public Library didn’t report visits; the survey’s estimate carries forward its 2023 figure, so we leave it out and never rank it.
  • Not reported for 2024: print loans, books & media on the shelves, library cards, hours open, spending, funding, staff and public computers. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Leon

Does Leon have a public library?

Yes. Leon Public Library, 711 N. West St., serves Leon’s 662 residents (the survey’s count).

Is Leon Public Library fine-free? Does it lend e-books?

Yes to both: no late fees, and e-books, audiobooks and research databases with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Leon’s library?

It lent 0.0 items per resident in 2024 (print). Visits weren’t reported for 2024.

What is Leon’s civic life grade?

Leon isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Leon.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.