Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Hugoton

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
StevensCoCHPhoto: Spacini · CC BY-SA 3.0
Safety in Hugoton · Not graded

Policing and crime in Hugoton, KS

Hugoton’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The closest graded town is Liberal, 25 miles away, at C+.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
12
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
25 mi
Liberal (C+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 3 property crimes reported

Property crime (3.4)Violent crime (1.1)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hugoton1.1
Rest of KS4.1
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Hugoton3.4
Rest of KS20.2
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Hugoton’s police reported

Show as a table
YearHugotonRest of KansasHugotonRest of Kansas
20223.224.40.55.0
20234.124.20.54.8
20243.420.21.14.1
2025not reported22.8not reported5.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Kansas. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

16 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft8
Burglary2
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault3
Robbery0
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
12
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

4 violent and 12 property, as reported to the FBI by Hugoton’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Kansas towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LiberalC+25 mi2.810.4
UlyssesA28 mi1.30.5
Garden CityC−62 mi5.221.1
Dodge CityC+83 mi2.711.0
Scott CityB93 mi3.03.5
LarnedC141 mi4.112.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Hugoton. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Hugoton.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Hugoton’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (6.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Hugoton’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Hugoton’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Kansas towns of 2,500–5,000: 6.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Hugoton and its neighbors

Hugoton
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Hugoton. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Hugoton’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,570 in 2024); our figure for Hugoton is 3,545 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Hugoton

Is Hugoton, KS safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Hugoton. The nearest Kansas towns with a grade are Liberal (C+, 25 mi), Ulysses (A, 28 mi), Garden City (C−, 62 mi).

Who polices Hugoton?

Hugoton’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Hugoton”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Hugoton feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Hugoton.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.