James H. Laine Barn · Photo: F. Brent Smith · Public domainRichfield’s library logs 0.8 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size
Richfield District serves 939 people in and around Richfield. Last year it lent 360 books, movies and e-books and logged 731 visits.
The short version on Richfield’s library
Richfield District is used less than most libraries its size
Richfield District records 0.8 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries serving under 2,500 people. Borrowing is 0.4 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. It also spends less than most: $18 per resident, against a typical $54. How it compares ↓
Open only about 19 hours a week
The Richfield branch keeps short hours: about 19 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓
Runs on less money than most
Richfield District spends $18 per resident, less than 92% of similar-size libraries (typical: $54). What your card is worth ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; Richfield District serves 939 people in and around Richfield, and its numbers cover all of them; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Richfield’s civic life grade
Richfield isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 1 of 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Richfield District serves 939 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
A year at Richfield District
Fiscal year 2024, for the whole Richfield District system. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: public computers. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Mostly books and media off the shelf
360 loans last year: print, kids’ and digital.
Borrow from home with your card, plus research databases: courses, journals, genealogy and more.
What kids borrow
Story times, clubs, classes and events, across the whole system, by who they’re for.
Find it
Richfield District, 105 S Main, Richfield.















E-books and audiobooks from home. Research databases: courses, journals, genealogy. Good at every Richfield District branch.
New in Richfield? The Handbook →Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Richfield cardholder borrows.
Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $17K.
Last year the library lent and hosted about $5,520 worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $17K budget.
Late fines apply to some overdue items.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 646 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: public computers. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- System-wide. Richfield District serves 939 people in and around Richfield, so the yearly numbers cover all of them, not just Richfield.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Richfield
Does Richfield have a public library?
Yes. Richfield District, 105 S Main, serves 939 people in and around Richfield (the survey’s count) and is open about 19 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Richfield District fine-free? Does it lend e-books?
It charges late fines on some overdue items, and it lends e-books and audiobooks with a card (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Richfield’s library?
It logged 0.8 visits and lent 0.4 items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Richfield’s civic life grade?
Richfield isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Richfield.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.