Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Orofino

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Clearwater River in Ahsahka, IdahoPhoto: Dsdugan · Public domain
Safety in Orofino · Not graded

What the figures say about crime in Orofino, ID

Orofino reports no crime figures of its own to the FBI for 2023–2025, so there is no Safety Grade. For a graded neighbor, the nearest is Lewiston (B−), 36 miles away.

Violent crimes
12
reported to the FBI, 2022
Property crimes
15
reported to the FBI, 2022
Nearest graded town
36 mi
Lewiston (B−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 5 property crimes reported

Property crime (4.5)Violent crime (3.6)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Orofino3.6
Rest of ID2.8
U.S. (FBI)4.0

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022

Orofino4.5
Rest of ID11.6
U.S. (FBI)20.0

Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 4 violent crimes, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Orofino’s police reported

Show as a table
YearOrofinoRest of IdahoOrofinoRest of Idaho
20224.511.63.62.8
2023not reported10.0not reported2.6
2024not reported9.3not reported2.6
2025not reported7.5not reported2.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Idaho. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

27 crimes reported in 2022

2022 offenses reported

Larceny / theft10
Burglary5
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault11
Robbery1
Rape0
Homicide0
Arson0
12
violent crimes
15
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

12 violent and 15 property, as reported to the FBI by Orofino’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Idaho towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
LewistonB−36 mi1.613.1
MoscowB+39 mi0.212.0
St. MariesB59 mi2.17.2
KelloggB−73 mi3.55.2
Coeur d'AleneB−88 mi2.68.9
Post FallsB92 mi1.57.6

Straight-line distance from the center of Orofino. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Orofino.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Orofino’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Idaho towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (0.0 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Orofino’s size would see about 0 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Orofino’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Idaho towns of 2,500–5,000: 0.0

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Orofino and its neighbors

Orofino
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Orofino. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Orofino’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,310 in 2022); our figure for Orofino is 3,259 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Orofino

Is Orofino, ID safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Orofino. Orofino has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Idaho towns with a grade are Lewiston (B−, 36 mi), Moscow (B+, 39 mi), St. Maries (B, 59 mi).

Who polices Orofino?

Orofino’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Orofino”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Orofino feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Orofino.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.