Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Rockford

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Rockford Public Library

Rockford’s library lends 2.7 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9 for libraries its size

Rockford Public Library serves Rockford’s 758 residents. Last year it lent 2,032 print books and media and logged 2,064 visits.

202 W Main Ave, Rockford 50468 · about 35 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
2,032
2.7 per resident
Visits a year
2,064
2.7 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Programs & events
40
about 1 a week · 54 attended
Open
35 hrs
a week

What stands out about Rockford’s library

Read from the library’s own yearly report. The page puts what stands out first.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Rockford’s civic life grade

Rockford isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Rockford’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 5 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 2.7 visits · typical 3.5Lower than 62%
Borrowing per resident 2.7 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 65%
Program attendance 0.1 attendees · typical 0.7Bottom 10%
Programs offered 52.8 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Lower than 54%
Spending $51 per resident · typical $54Lower than 53%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Rockford Public Library serves 758 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 1 item goes out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

2,064
visits
2.7 per resident
2,032
loans, print + digital
2.7 per resident
40
programs & events
54 attended
Every open hour1items borrowed
Every week1people at a program
Every day2Wi-Fi sessions
1 staff (full-time equivalent)2 public computers8,564 books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

2,032 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

The survey has no count of children’s loans for Rockford’s library in 2024, so there’s no split between adults’ and kids’ borrowing.

How hard the shelves work
0.2×

Each of the 8,564 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.2 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

40 programs a year

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Rockford →

Programs last year by age group

Ages 0–50
Ages 6–110
Teens0
Adults20
All ages20
54
people at programs
40
programs
The building

Find it

Rockford Public Library, 202 W Main Ave, Rockford.

35
hours open a week
1,500
square feet
8,564
books & media
With a card

No late fees.

New in Rockford? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Rockford resident borrows (the library didn’t report its card count for 2024).

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
0
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$204
a year at retail prices · $17 a month

Who pays for it
$51 per resident a year

Typical for a library this size: $54. Operating budget $39K.

Local taxes 94%State 5%Gifts & other 1%

Last year the library lent and hosted about $37K worth of books, e-books, programs and Wi-Fi on a $39K budget.

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average resident’s month = the library’s yearly loans and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ the 758 people it serves ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: library cards. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Rockford

Does Rockford have a public library?

Yes. Rockford Public Library, 202 W Main Ave, serves Rockford’s 758 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 35 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Rockford Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Rockford’s library?

It logged 2.7 visits and lent 2.7 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Rockford’s civic life grade?

Rockford isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Rockford.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.