Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Orange City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Zwemer Hall, Northwestern CollegeZwemer Hall, Northwestern College · Photo: Tlandegent at en.wikipedia · Public domain
Safety in Orange City · Not graded

Orange City goes ungraded: its recorded crime

Sioux Center, 8 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (A+). Orange City’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 and 2025 but not 2023, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Widen the search to 25 miles and 4 graded towns turn up.

Violent crimes
3
reported to the FBI, 2025
Property crimes
9
reported to the FBI, 2025
Nearest graded town
8 mi
Sioux Center (A+)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 1 property crime reported

Property crime (1.4)Violent crime (0.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Orange City0.5
Rest of IA3.0
U.S. (FBI)3.3

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025

Orange City1.4
Rest of IA15.9
U.S. (FBI)15.5

Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Orange City’s police reported

Show as a table
YearOrange CityRest of IowaOrange CityRest of Iowa
2022not reported19.2not reported3.7
2023not reported20.0not reported3.6
20241.917.90.53.2
20251.415.90.53.0

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Iowa. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

12 crimes reported in 2025

2025 offenses reported

Larceny / theft6
Burglary3
Vehicle theft0
Aggravated assault0
Robbery0
Rape3
Homicide0
Arson0
3
violent crimes
9
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

3 violent and 9 property, as reported to the FBI by Orange City’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Iowa towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Sioux CenterA+8 mi0.22.9
SheldonC+16 mi3.85.8
Le MarsB16 mi2.07.2
Rock ValleyA+18 mi0.21.6
CherokeeA−31 mi1.83.0
Sioux CityD39 mi5.432.2

Straight-line distance from the center of Orange City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Orange City.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

No one died in a crash on Orange City’s roads in 2019–2023

That is about what is typical for Iowa towns of 5,000–25,000 people: at their median rate (3.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Orange City’s size would see about 1 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Orange City’s own rate (0.0) is context, not a ranking.

0
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
0
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
0.0
per 100,000 a year · Iowa towns of 5,000–25,000: 3.2

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Orange City and its neighbors

Alton: not gradedAltonOrange City
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Alton———

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. Alton has no FBI figures of its own for 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Orange City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Orange City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (6,616 in 2025); our figure for Orange City is 6,468 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Orange City

Is Orange City, IA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Orange City. The nearest Iowa towns with a grade are Sioux Center (A+, 8 mi), Sheldon (C+, 16 mi), Le Mars (B, 16 mi).

Who polices Orange City?

Orange City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Orange City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Orange City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Orange City.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.