Photo: Billwhittaker at English Wikipedia · CC BY-SA 3.0Lehigh’s library runs 171 programs per 1,000 residents, against a typical 60 for libraries its size
Lehigh Public Library serves Lehigh’s 457 residents. Last year it lent 886 print books and media and logged 3,461 visits.
What Lehigh’s library is like
More of a place to be than a place to borrow
Visits per resident beat 82% of similar-size libraries, while borrowing beats only 23%. The building also logs about 2 Wi-Fi sessions a day. A year at the library ↓
A small-town library
Lehigh Public Library serves 457 residents with about one full-time staff, open about 25 hours a week. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓
This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.
What’s behind Lehigh’s civic life grade
Lehigh isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.
Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.
Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →
78 programs a year
Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.
Programs last year by age group
Ahead of most similar-size libraries on 3 of 6 measures
Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.
Lehigh Public Library serves 457 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.
A year at Lehigh Public Library
Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.
Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.
Books and media off the shelf
886 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.
Each of the 5,587 books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.2 time last year, on average.
Find it
Lehigh Public Library, 241 Elm St., Lehigh.















Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.
What a library card is worth
Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Lehigh cardholder borrows.
Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.
Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 118 cardholders ÷ 12.
What this data can and can’t tell you
From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.
- Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
- Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.
Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →
Questions about the library and civic life in Lehigh
Does Lehigh have a public library?
Yes. Lehigh Public Library, 241 Elm St., serves Lehigh’s 457 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 25 hours a week, averaged over the year.
Is Lehigh Public Library fine-free?
Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).
How busy is Lehigh’s library?
It logged 7.6 visits and lent 1.9 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.
What is Lehigh’s civic life grade?
Lehigh isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.
Book talk
Reading, story times and the library in Lehigh.
Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.