Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Clearfield

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Clearfield, IAPhoto: Jared Winkler · CC BY-SA 4.0
Clearfield Public Library

Clearfield’s library logs 0.9 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries its size

Clearfield Public Library serves Clearfield’s 1,387 residents. Last year it lent 2,358 print books and media and logged 1,213 visits.

401 Broadway Suite 200, Clearfield 50840 · about 16 hours a week
–Civic lifeNot graded: fewer than 1,000 residents
Borrowed a year
2,358
1.7 per resident
Visits a year
1,213
0.9 per resident · Below typical (3.5)
Cardholders
7%
103 cards
Open
16 hrs
a week
In brief

Clearfield’s library, in brief

Clearfield Public Library is used less than most libraries its size

Clearfield Public Library records 0.9 visits per resident, against a typical 3.5 for libraries serving under 2,500 people. Borrowing is 1.7 print items per resident, against a typical 3.9. How it compares ↓

Few programs for a library this size

Clearfield Public Library offered 0 programs last year, 0 per 1,000 residents against a typical 60. Kids & programs ↓

Open only about 16 hours a week

Clearfield Public Library keeps short hours: about 16 a week, averaged over the year, so check its schedule before you go. The building ↓

A small-town library

Clearfield Public Library serves 1,387 residents with about one full-time staff. It’s compared only with libraries serving under 2,500 people, because per-person numbers always look big in a small town. A year at the library ↓

Few residents carry a card

Only 7% of the people Clearfield Public Library serves have a library card, against a typical 54% for its size. How it compares ↓

This summary is written from the numbers on this page. Numbers are the library’s own report to the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024; in a town this small, one busy program or a few avid readers move the per-resident numbers.

Civic life grade

What’s behind Clearfield’s civic life grade

Clearfield isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more.

–
Civic lifeA character grade: shown, never part of Clearfield’s overall grade.

Civic life counts registered nonprofits, library visits and online volunteering groups, so it can miss civic life that runs through congregations, mutual aid or neighbors looking out for each other.

Library visits: IMLS Public Libraries Survey, FY2024. Nonprofits: IRS Exempt Organizations Business Master File, October 2026. Volunteering: Social Capital Atlas (Opportunity Insights), from data by Meta Platforms, Inc.; Chetty et al., Nature 2022. How TownRatings grades civic life →

How it compares

Below most similar-size libraries on all 6 measures

Per resident, against libraries serving under 2,500 people across the U.S.

Visits per resident 0.9 visits · typical 3.5Bottom 10%
Borrowing per resident 1.7 print items · typical 3.9Lower than 81%
Kids’ borrowing 0.6 kids’ items · typical 1.4Lower than 73%
Program attendance 0 attendees · typical 0.7Bottom 10%
Programs offered 0 per 1,000 residents · typical 60Bottom 10%
Cardholders 7% of residents · typical 54%Bottom 10%
Fewer per residentMore per resident
Size group

Clearfield Public Library serves 1,387 people, so it’s measured against U.S. libraries serving under 2,500.

A year at the library

Every hour the doors are open, about 3 items go out

Fiscal year 2024. The library’s own count.

1,213
visits
0.9 per resident
2,358
loans, print + digital
1.7 per resident
0
programs & events
0 attended
103
library cards
7% of people served
Every open hour3items borrowed
Every week23visits
2 public computers11K books & media on the shelves

Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey fills a missing figure with its own estimate; we leave estimates out rather than show them as the library’s count.

What people borrow

Books and media off the shelf

2,358 print loans last year. The library didn’t report its e-book and e-audiobook loans.

2,358loans
Books & media (adults) 64%Kids’ books & media 36%
How hard the shelves work
0.2×

Each of the 11K books and other items on the shelves went out about 0.2 time last year, on average.

Kids & programs

What kids borrow

Story times, clubs, classes and events, by who they’re for.

Schools in Clearfield →
846
kids’ books & media borrowed
The building

Find it

Clearfield Public Library, 401 Broadway Suite 200, Clearfield.

16
hours open a week
1,600
square feet
11K
books & media
With a card

No late fees.

New in Clearfield? The Handbook →

Hours are the survey’s yearly average. Check the library’s own site for today’s hours.

What your card is worth

What a library card is worth

Set what you’d borrow in a month. It starts at what the average Clearfield cardholder borrows.

In a month I’d use…
Books$17 each
1
Kids’ books$12 each
1
E-books & audio$15 each
0
Movies & music$4 each
0
Programs & classes$10 a program
0
Computer & Wi-Fi$3 a session
0
Your card saves you about
$348
a year at retail prices · $29 a month

Fine-free. No late fees on books returned late.

Retail prices are typical, rounded down: a new book $17, a kids’ book $12, an e-book or e-audiobook $15, a movie rental $4, a class or program $10, a computer or Wi-Fi session $3. The average cardholder’s month = the library’s yearly loans, attendance and Wi-Fi sessions ÷ its 103 cardholders ÷ 12.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

From the Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024.

  • Not reported for 2024: spending. The survey filled the figure with its own estimate, so it is left out.
  • Digital loans not reported. The library didn’t report e-book loans, so borrowing here is print only.

Hours are the survey’s yearly average; libraries are compared with others serving about as many people. How TownRatings uses library figures →

Questions about the library and civic life in Clearfield

Does Clearfield have a public library?

Yes. Clearfield Public Library, 401 Broadway Suite 200, serves Clearfield’s 1,387 residents (the survey’s count) and is open about 16 hours a week, averaged over the year.

Is Clearfield Public Library fine-free?

Yes, no late fees (the library’s 2024 survey report).

How busy is Clearfield’s library?

It logged 0.9 visits and lent 1.7 print items per resident in 2024, against a typical 3.5 visits for libraries serving under 2,500 people.

What is Clearfield’s civic life grade?

Clearfield isn’t graded on civic life: TownRatings grades towns of 1,000 residents or more. How it works.

Book talk

Reading, story times and the library in Clearfield.

Town Square →
Start a conversation

Libraries: Institute of Museum and Library Services, Public Libraries Survey, fiscal year 2024. Each library reports its own numbers. Distances are straight-line from the town center. “What your card is worth” uses typical retail prices and is an estimate, not an official figure.