Safety in Tallapoosa: figures, but no grade
For a graded neighbor, the nearest is Bremen (C+), 8 miles away. Out to 25 miles, the count of graded towns reaches 5. The FBI holds no crime figures for Tallapoosa alone for 2023–2025, so it can’t be graded.
For every 1,000 residents, about 24 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2022
Crimes reported to police in 2022 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2022. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Tallapoosa’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Tallapoosa | Rest of Georgia | Tallapoosa | Rest of Georgia |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 23.8 | 24.7 | 0.9 | 4.9 |
| 2023 | not reported | 25.4 | not reported | 4.4 |
| 2024 | not reported | 21.5 | not reported | 3.8 |
| 2025 | not reported | 18.0 | not reported | 3.5 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
81 crimes reported in 2022
2022 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
3 violent and 78 property, as reported to the FBI by Tallapoosa’s police.
The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bremen | C+ | 8 mi | 0.9 | 20.5 |
| Temple | B | 15 mi | 1.0 | 10.7 |
| Carrollton | C | 16 mi | 2.2 | 18.1 |
| Cedartown | C− | 20 mi | 4.1 | 20.9 |
| Rockmart | C− | 23 mi | 3.7 | 26.8 |
| Cave Spring | B | 26 mi | 1.1 | 9.4 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Tallapoosa. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Tallapoosa.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
Five people died in crashes on Tallapoosa’s roads in 2019–2023
Tallapoosa had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which five people died; 2 were pedestrians and 1 was a cyclist.
That is more than is typical for Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (10.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Tallapoosa’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Tallapoosa’s own rate (31.0) is context, not a ranking.
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Tallapoosa and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Tallapoosa. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Tallapoosa’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (3,273 in 2022); our figure for Tallapoosa is 3,141 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Tallapoosa
Is Tallapoosa, GA safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Tallapoosa. Tallapoosa has no FBI crime figures of its own for 2023–2025, so there is nothing to grade it on. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are Bremen (C+, 8 mi), Temple (B, 15 mi), Carrollton (C, 16 mi).
Who polices Tallapoosa?
Tallapoosa’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Tallapoosa”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Tallapoosa.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2022, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.