Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Lake City

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Safety in Lake City · Not graded

Crime reported in Lake City, GA

Drive 10 miles in any direction and you reach 4 towns with grades of their own. Lake City’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2024 but not 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The closest graded town is Forest Park, 1 mile away, at D.

Violent crimes
13
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
80
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
1 mi
Forest Park (D)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 28 property crimes reported

Property crime (27.8)Violent crime (4.5)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Lake City4.5
Rest of GA3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Lake City27.8
Rest of GA21.5
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

And about 5 violent crimes, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

By year

The years Lake City’s police reported

Show as a table
YearLake CityRest of GeorgiaLake CityRest of Georgia
202224.024.72.64.9
202336.325.33.24.4
202427.821.54.53.8
2025not reported18.0not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

What gets reported

93 crimes reported in 2024

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft45
Burglary19
Vehicle theft16
Aggravated assault9
Robbery3
Rape1
Homicide0
Arson1
13
violent crimes
80
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

13 violent and 80 property, as reported to the FBI by Lake City’s police.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
Forest ParkD1 mi7.031.0
MorrowD−2 mi5.165.5
College ParkD−7 mi14.971.8
StockbridgeC−8 mi3.820.4
DecaturC12 mi1.221.4
AtlantaD12 mi6.835.1

Straight-line distance from the center of Lake City. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Lake City.

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

On the roads

Seven people died in crashes on Lake City’s roads in 2019–2023

Lake City had 5 fatal crashes in five years, in which seven people died; 1 was a pedestrian.

That is more than is typical for Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000 people: at their median rate (10.9 deaths per 100,000 residents a year), a town of Lake City’s size would see about 2 in five years. With numbers this small, a death or two either way changes the picture, so Lake City’s own rate (48.1) is context, not a ranking.

7
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
1
pedestrian among them
0
cyclists among them
48.1
per 100,000 a year · Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000: 10.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Lake City and its neighbors

A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty
Forest ParkD7.031.0
MorrowD−5.165.5

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Lake City. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Lake City’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (2,876 in 2024); our figure for Lake City is 2,866 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Lake City

Is Lake City, GA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Lake City. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are Forest Park (D, 1 mi), Morrow (D−, 2 mi), College Park (D−, 7 mi).

Who polices Lake City?

Lake City’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Lake City”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Lake City feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Neighbors looking out for each other in Lake City.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.