Guest, Sign inJoin

Post to Jasper

We’ll email a one-tap link to publish your post. No password, and nothing is public until you click it.
Already a member? Sign in
Griffeth-Pendley HouseGriffeth-Pendley House · Photo: Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD · CC BY-SA 4.0
Safety in Jasper · Not graded

Crime reported in Jasper, GA

Jasper’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025.

Violent crimes
4
reported to the FBI, 2024
Property crimes
63
reported to the FBI, 2024
Nearest graded town
14 mi
East Ellijay (C−)
1,000 neighbors · one year

For every 1,000 residents, about 12 property crimes reported

And about 1 violent crime, in 2024. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.

Property crime (11.9)Violent crime (0.8)Everyone else

Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Jasper0.8
Rest of GA3.8
U.S. (FBI)3.6

Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2024

Jasper11.9
Rest of GA21.5
U.S. (FBI)17.7

Crimes reported to police in 2024 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.

By year

The years Jasper’s police reported

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Georgia. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.

Show as a table
YearJasperRest of GeorgiaJasperRest of Georgia
202216.524.70.54.9
2023not reported25.4not reported4.4
202411.921.50.83.8
2025not reported18.0not reported3.5

Crimes per 1,000 residents

What gets reported

67 crimes reported in 2024

4 violent and 63 property, as reported to the FBI by Jasper’s police.

2024 offenses reported

Larceny / theft55
Burglary6
Vehicle theft2
Aggravated assault1
Robbery0
Rape3
Homicide0
Arson0
4
violent crimes
63
property crimes

Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.

Nearest with figures

The nearest Georgia towns with a Safety Grade

Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

TownGradeDistanceViolentProperty
East EllijayC−14 mi2.628.2
CantonB+15 mi1.57.1
EllijayB16 mi0.810.7
Holly SpringsA21 mi0.04.3
MiltonA−23 mi0.74.9
WoodstockB25 mi0.89.9

Straight-line distance from the center of Jasper. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Jasper.

On the roads

13 people died in crashes on Jasper’s roads in 2019–2023

Jasper had 13 fatal crashes in five years, in which 13 people died; 2 were pedestrians.

That is 56.2 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, above the median for Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000 people (10.9, 96 towns).

13
people died in crashes, 2019–2023
2
pedestrians among them
0
cyclists among them
56.2
per 100,000 a year · Georgia towns of 2,500–5,000: 10.9

Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.

Next door

Jasper and its neighbors

How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.

Jasper
A rangeB rangeC rangeD rangeNot graded
TownGradeViolentProperty

Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can’t tell you

  • It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
  • One number for all of Jasper. A town-wide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of town to another.
  • Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Jasper’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (5,298 in 2024); our figure for Jasper is 5,400 (2025 Census estimate).
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.

How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →

Questions about safety in Jasper

Is Jasper, GA safe?

There is no Safety Grade for Jasper. Jasper’s police reported to the FBI for 2024 but not 2023 or 2025, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. The nearest Georgia towns with a grade are East Ellijay (C−, 14 mi), Canton (B+, 15 mi), Ellijay (B, 16 mi).

Who polices Jasper?

Jasper’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Jasper”. Its figures are the ones on this page.

Heads-up board

Neighbors looking out for each other in Jasper.

Town Square →
Weigh in
Does Jasper feel safe walking around at night?

Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.

Post a heads-up

Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.

Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.