Photo: Zverzver · Public domainCrime and safety in Port St. Lucie, FL
Port St. Lucie’s police reported to the FBI for 2023 and 2025 but not 2024, so there is no Safety Grade: the grade needs all three years, 2023–2025. Stuart, 11 miles away, is the nearest town with a Safety Grade (C−).
For every 1,000 residents, about 6 property crimes reported
Violent crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Property crime per 1,000 residents, 2025
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
And about 1 violent crime, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
The years Port St. Lucie’s police reported
Show as a table
| Year | Port St. Lucie | Rest of Florida | Port St. Lucie | Rest of Florida |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 7.6 | 23.0 | 1.2 | 4.6 |
| 2023 | 7.5 | 19.7 | 1.0 | 3.7 |
| 2024 | not reported | 18.4 | not reported | 3.5 |
| 2025 | 6.2 | 14.6 | 1.3 | 3.1 |
Crimes per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents, against the rest of Florida. A year the department didn’t report in full is a gap, not a zero.
2,059 crimes reported in 2025
2025 offenses reported
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting. The last row is counted outside the property total.
351 violent and 1,708 property, as reported to the FBI by Port St. Lucie’s police.
The nearest Florida towns with a Safety Grade
| Town | Grade | Distance | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stuart | C− | 11 mi | 3.6 | 19.4 |
| Vero Beach | A | 25 mi | 0.6 | 4.4 |
| Tequesta | A | 28 mi | 0.6 | 3.7 |
| Jupiter | A | 30 mi | 0.7 | 3.7 |
| Palm Beach Gardens | B− | 33 mi | 0.9 | 15.4 |
| Fellsmere | A− | 33 mi | 0.9 | 5.1 |
Straight-line distance from the center of Port St. Lucie. Nearby towns can differ a lot from Port St. Lucie.
Each town’s own police figures, per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025.
73 people died in crashes on Port St. Lucie’s roads in 2019–2023
Port St. Lucie had 64 fatal crashes in five years, in which 73 people died; 13 were pedestrians and 3 were cyclists. 12 died in crashes on an Interstate.
That is 6.3 deaths per 100,000 residents a year, below the median for Florida towns of 100,000+ people (13.1, 27 towns).
Deaths are counted where the crash happened, not where the people lived: a highway through town adds through-traffic deaths, and residents’ own risk on roads elsewhere isn’t here. Town rates sit below state and U.S. rates because a third of fatal crashes happen outside any town. Road safety is described here and is not part of the Safety Grade. Source: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023.
Port St. Lucie and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property |
|---|---|---|---|
| River Park | — | — | — |
| White City | — | — | — |
| Indian River Estates | — | — | — |
| Jensen Beach | — | — | — |
| Palm City | — | — | — |
Crimes reported to the FBI per 1,000 residents a year, 2023–2025. River Park, White City, Indian River Estates, Jensen Beach and Palm City are unincorporated communities (census-designated places) with no police department of their own.
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many crimes are never reported to police.
- One number for all of Port St. Lucie. A citywide rate doesn’t show where incidents happen, and that can differ a lot from one part of the city to another.
- Visitors count too. Incidents involving people who work, shop or visit are counted against Port St. Lucie’s residents, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Whose population. Rates use the FBI’s population for the department (273,427 in 2025); our figure for Port St. Lucie is 268,062 (2025 Census estimate).
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
How the grade is calculated, for every town: How TownRatings grades safety →
Questions about safety in Port St. Lucie
Is Port St. Lucie, FL safe?
There is no Safety Grade for Port St. Lucie. The nearest Florida towns with a grade are Stuart (C−, 11 mi), Vero Beach (A, 25 mi), Tequesta (A, 28 mi).
Who polices Port St. Lucie?
Port St. Lucie’s own police department, which reports to the FBI as “Port St. Lucie”. Its figures are the ones on this page.
Heads-up board
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Neighbors looking out for each other in Port St. Lucie.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Road deaths: NHTSA Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS), 2019–2023. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.